Anko Kon Ruk Strawberry

14 Nov

b160a46b76

That’s it, I’m checking out of Anko Kon Ruk Strawberry. The teasers got me excited and I wanted so much to like this for Ken and Chompoo that I hung on for 4 full episodes. On the surface it should work considering it’s nicely produced, with decent acting all round and complete with shadows of all my favourite rom-coms. Yet, it’s not. Let’s count the reasons why.

Introducing the required platter of side characters 1) Maeri, Anya’s rival at work who’s determined to sabotage her at every opportunity 2) Theuthep, Anya’s deluded admirer 3) Kimbom, Anya’s faithful sidekick 4) Khun Ying Meung, Yinggi & Pooklook, Saen’s fanclub deluded admirers 5) the bunch of evil, money faced fertilizer producers who want Saen out of the picture . Out of the lot, I only bother with Kimbom ‘cos he’s cute and funny. The rest just keep repeating themselves every time they show up, doing what they are ‘supposed’ to do as the *insert stock character description*, not adding to the plot nor advancing any characterization and it’s starting to grate by ep4.

My biggest problem though, is with Anya. I don’t like her. Alin, Napdao, Pim, KwanUma etc all have unfavourable traits but the endearing side of them shows bit by bit with each episode (ok, except Alin who made me love her at first sight despite everything!). Anya though, is not getting to me. I know, she’s supposed to be a confident, independent woman who knows herself, knows what she wants, and goes out to get it. Anya is given a ‘legitimate’ reason to sabotage Saen’s work. She’s not doing out of malice, oh no. Since Saen is too idealistic stubborn to move on to a higher paying job, Anya has to resort to wrecking his work in order to force him to jump ship, which will in turn get her the promotion she wants. All in the name of work right? But woman! you’ve seen the work Saen does and how it affects the livelihood of the farmers, like you know, actual people?? But Anya only has eyes and thoughts for Anya, Anya, Anya and Anya alone. I don’t find it funny at all to watch Anya mess with Saen’s life work for the sake of her all important promotion. Anya’s OTT wardrobe isn’t doing it for me either.

Then there’s Saen, our mild mannered Dr. who toils for the good of people and nature. Anya’s schemes always conveniently end up helping Saen’s work instead of destroying it like she intended to and that adds up Anya’s brownie points in Saen’s heart that he trusts her wholeheartedly. I prefer a more level playing field for my OTP and I don’t want to just see Saen constantly taken for a ride by Anya. Makes me miss Alin’s sharp-tongued Kru Cook! There are occasionally sparks between Ken and Chompoo, especially in ep2 where Ken made me swooned briefly. That said, occasional sparks are not enough for me to get over my issues with the n’ek.

akrs1

Ken and Chompoo are good together, but not Saen and Anya.

akrs2Kimbom and May make a real cute pair though! I might skim through the show for them.

Anyone out there up to date with the latest episodes? Is this lakorn worth any more of my time?

4 Responses to “Anko Kon Ruk Strawberry”

  1. Tahmnong November 14, 2013 at 11:21 PM #

    You lasted longer than me:/ Which is too bad, I really wanted to like this. But I agree with everything you said

    • J November 16, 2013 at 12:04 AM #

      Yea, I had high expectations for this one but too bad it was a let down. Are you following any lakorns on air?

  2. Fia November 15, 2013 at 9:48 AM #

    Ha. I dropped it like it’s hot too. Made it only through the first episode. Some lakorns are just not worth our while.

    • J November 16, 2013 at 12:01 AM #

      It took me 3 ep to warm up to Pim in Khun Samee and I ended up enjoying that lakorn so I held out hope that AKRS might improve but I guess not!

Leave a Reply

