Let’s talk about lakorns you re-watch

1 Feb

Still watching dramas (finished 2 of Ann’s old lakorns Tae Pang Korn and Nang Fah Rai Peek recently) but I’m getting so incredibly lazy about writing! So let’s do some ‘light blogging’ here and talk about lakorns I’ve re-watched. The lakorns that get the most re-watches are indeed from the ‘Love it’ category but something I re-watched isn’t necessarily an objectively good lakorn, just an entertaining enough one! Haaa. I’m in need of lakorn recommendations so please share with me those that withstood the test of your re-watches!

Watched at least 4 times (I’m not sure of the exact number of times I’ve watched these favourites ‘cos sometimes I skim through random episodes when I have a craving for the OTP)

Sawan Biang  – I feel like a broken record going on and on about my love for Ken/Ann but till now no other pairing can unseat them as the no. 1 in my heart. I’m so thankful Ch3 paired them up in not just one, but a few well-written lakorns (versus Aum/Aff who imo didn’t have any really good follow up lakorns after their explosive start in JLR). SB is my go-to when I’m in the mood for angst, specifically angst in the form of Kawee’s man-pain.

 

Sood Sanaeha – Ahhhhh, my personal perfect lakorn. No reason not to watch it over and over!

 

Jam Loey Rak – The re-watches were mostly done in the early days of my lakorn watching and its appeal to me has diminished over the years. I doubt I’ll pick this one up again.

Watched 3 times

Plerng See Roong – *shifty eyes* This made me want to strangle the p’ek and stab my eyes when watching but … eh, the crazy was so much it made PSR train wreckingly entertaining. If you miss Numpeung in all her bitchy glory after Sawan Biang, she ups the rai ante here as a selfish woman obsessed with Mart, her ex lover/now step-son. PSR does have an amazingly sane and functional secondary couple though, so don’t judge me too much ok??😄 Just remember to leave your brain and expectations at the door if you consider checking this out.

Poo Yai Lee Gub Nang Ma – Funny and sweet in a low key way, PYLGNM is perfect for days when you need a pick-me-up drama. It’s position has been usurped by the next lakorn though!

Num Baan Rai Gab Wanjai Hi-So – It has a similar vibe to Poo Yai Lee, but I fangirl the OTP more so I now turn to Num Baan to sooth frazzled nerves. After all, who could stay upset watching Napdao Wow Zaap?

Watched twice

Mia Taeng – Another guilty pleasure!

Khun Samee Kamalor Tee Ruk – I did enjoy it the second time round but as it was for recapping purpose, I watched it in such detail that it was a bit of an overkill and I don’t foresee myself re-watching this any time soon.

Suay Rerd Cherd Sod – The jokes can get slap stick but Janie and Film had great chemistry on both the comedy and romance, making this a winner for days when you just wanna have fun!

Kularb Rai Klai Ruk – Mediocre lakorn but boy did the OTP send me into dizzy fangirly spasms. I’ll have to satisfy myself with re-watching Grate/Matt here while waiting for their next lakorn Ruk Tong Om to finish filming!

 

Dok Soke – Another one where I re-watch strictly for the OTP.

18 Responses to “Let’s talk about lakorns you re-watch”

  1. asl February 2, 2014 at 4:00 AM #

    i was wondering what happen to you. altho i dont comment much, i visit here at least once a week. it is getting more difficult to keep up with so many blogs around the globe.

    there is no lakorns atm to recommend. as for the ones that are currently airing, it is too early to give a rec. but i put my money on wiang roy dao (mart/taew). for guilty pleasure, i rec sood sai paan but be mentally prepare for its horribly written second half.

    i usially steer away from ch5 and 7

    • asl February 2, 2014 at 4:18 AM #

      im so upset with kdramas, lakorns, twdramas, jdramas and american tv shows, im resorting to hkdrama!!! phew it has been almost a decade since my last hkdrama. heck i dont even remember the last one i had seen.

    • J February 2, 2014 at 2:01 PM #

      Hi there, thanks for the support!😀 Sood Sai Paan seems to be quite the popular guilty pleasure these days, perhaps I will check it out next. Which hk drama are you watching now?

  2. Sunitium February 4, 2014 at 2:48 AM #

    I just started watching Mia Taeng (I’m currently in the middle of episode 2) after reading this post and reading your recaps of Khun Samee Kamalor Tee Ruk from Lovefia’s Blog because I really like Rome + Chompoo. But oh my goodness! LOL I swear I can’t get over Rome’s character in Mia Taeng! It’s a complete 180 difference from his character in Khun Samee Kamalor Tee Ruk (which I watched first) ahaha! I wanted to hit him with a frying pan within the first 30 mins. of watching, but I’ll settled for Khun Pia’s way of handling him. lol I’m new to lakorns so thank you for the list!:)

    • J February 4, 2014 at 10:21 PM #

      lol, I know right? Khongkai is probably the dumbest p’ek I’ve seen but what makes Mia Taeng fun to watch is how everyone around Khongkai recognizes his stupidity and calls him out on it.
      You can check out my lakorn master list for more reviews on lakorns and hope you’ll find some you like! Enjoy your time with lakorns.😉

      • Sunitium February 5, 2014 at 1:42 AM #

        ahaha yes! It is fun watch even if there are plenty of times I want to pull my hair out lol thanks! I will definitely check out your master list!

  3. asl February 4, 2014 at 4:02 AM #

    I finished The Seventh Day, Lives of Omission and just got done with Witness Insecurity. I am not pleased with any of the endings to these dramas!!! Just great. I chose dramas with one or both of the OTP dies. Although TSD had a happy closure, did they have to include that she [OTP] died 5 years later?

    One thing that is lacking from all these dramas was the ROMANCE!!!

    You have one to recommend? I prefer to stay away from law enforcement/crime genre type as I have enough on American tv shows. But if it includes a good romance, I don’t mind either.

    • J February 4, 2014 at 10:31 PM #

      The most recent hk drama I really enjoyed was ‘On Call 36 Hours (aka The Hippocratic Crush)’. The romance between the lead characters was very moving but it’s a medical drama so the romance is weaved into the medical cases instead of taking centre stage. The sequel to On Call that aired recently was unfortunately a let down and I didn’t finish that one. At least the lead characters stay alive? But yea, hk dramas don’t really do sweeping romances. I watch them more for the wit and action.

      • asl February 25, 2014 at 1:59 PM #

        i dont know if i should hate you or thank you lol i watched on call season 1&2 within 4 and half days. i literally stayed up 36 hours straight with only bathroom breaks in between. i didnt like season 2 as much but it wasnt that bad either. even though the main focus is in the hospital, was it necessary to have 1/3rd of the cast to have some kind of sickness.

        but sadly i cannot find ep.30 anywhere for the 2nd season. i have been depressed for over almost a month lol i am willing to watch it be it raw or dubbed. if u know of any working link, let me know.

  4. jamieguo February 8, 2014 at 10:20 AM #

    How was Tae Pang Korn and Nang Fah Rai Peek? I’m watching a myriad of things now. I finished Sao Noi 2012, not bad, the women were really strong in it, but I wanted a bit more passion and romance in the… romance. Hehe.

    Watching Full House Thai right now, mostly because I watched kversion. Tried Samee 2013, then the original Samee which I think is better, but not sure I want to watch more of it. I just started Ngao Asoke 1999 since its being subbed and I like it so far.

    Also on ep 4 of Nang Rai Sai Lab, the cop scenes are a joke (to be expected), but I like the main leads and Peter? I’ve just had an epiphany on why you liked Num Baan Rai Gab Wanjai Hi-So so much. Mmm.

    He’s the same age as Ann too, I’m looking forward to watching their lakorn together!

    On to topic. I’ve watched Rahut Rissaya the most, followed by 365 Days of Love, Roy Leh Sanae Rai, not sure how many times, at least 2 times, along with scene rewatches.

    Although I love it, I’ve actually only watched Sawan Biang once, again, some scene rewatches mainly because its soooo angsty. For some reason, my guilty pleasure is Mia Taeng too, I’ve watched it maybe 3 times? Why????

    I guess I spend more time trying to find something to watch then actually watching, lol.

    • J February 8, 2014 at 4:43 PM #

      TPK and NFRP are ok to pass time with if you’re a fan of Ann, but I’m not very taken with either. I’m trying to get off my writing ass and review both lakorns.

      I’m also watching Full House Thai now and was a bit annoyed with the n’ek in ep1. Does she get more likeable? In any case I will continue watching for Mike. lol. I ever considered watching Ngao Asoke 2008 for Pong but did not in the end ‘cos I read that the n’ek was annoyingly dumb/self sacrificing. Let me know how the story goes for you!

      I would check out Nang Rai Sai Lab if the n’ek was played by someone else since I’m allergic to Margie. D: Have you watched NBRGWHS? Yep, I’m so looking forward to ‘Ab Ruk Online’!

      I really need to get round to watching Rahut Rissaya! The plot sounds like my kinda thing but for some reason it always gets forgotten when I’m surfing around for new lakorn to watch. 365 Days of Love is the only KA lakorn I did not finish watching. I love their natural chemistry in the show (as always) but I couldn’t get myself to like the n’ek.

      Mia Taeng is totally a guilty pleasure! Haha. I do get what you mean about Sawan Biang. These days I too usually re-watch the 2nd half where Kawee starts grovelling.

      I spend more time trying to find something to watch then actually watching -> ME TOO. >_>

  5. picadrama February 9, 2014 at 2:16 AM #

    I have watched Sawan Biang so manyyy times that I don’t remember. It’s insane lol.

    • J February 9, 2014 at 3:04 PM #

      lol. I’m with you. I’m re-watching SB from ep9 now and I’m always bowled over by how flippin’ amazing Ken is as Kawee.

      • jamieguo February 11, 2014 at 11:10 AM #

        Now I’m like I have to rewatch SB or something of Ken’s… until I look up his lakorns and go, nah, uh, nope, boring… and so on. I do want to try Sueb Lub Rahat Ruk though.

        I’m on episode 8 of Full House, I don’t feel bothered by Aom’s character anymore, either I got used to her or she’s less annoying. I watched Mike in Raak Boon and thought he was better there.

        Yep, the h in Ngao Asoke 1999 is self sacrificing as can be, but I’m on episode 3 already. There are lots of characters introduced in each episode and I’m trying to figure out all the connections and wondering, when the heck is the H and h going to meet!!!

        I was considering giving it up, although it has been somewhat entertaining so far, grooving along to the 90s style music, lol, so I skimmed ahead and they meet in episode 5. Seems like he’s already going at her, I think I’ll keep watching, just to see the chemistry. I do like in Ngao Asoke how most of the bad characters still have some good points, no one’s as out and out evil as in some lakorns today.

        Viki has a number of oldies that’s being subbed, I like it. They make me feel nostalgic even though I’ve never watched them before. There’s one called The Bought Husband I might try, sounds really similar to Samee.

  6. yuuri February 20, 2014 at 1:10 AM #

    Mon Jantra!
    Chakrit is awesome, immediately becomes my most favourite lakorn actors together with Ken T and Aum Atichart ^_-

  7. J March 1, 2014 at 3:17 PM #

    @asl glad you enjoyed On Call! I really loved the development of Yat Kin and Yu Zai’s relationship in the original series but there were just too many characters and plot points in S2 and like you said, did everyone and their mothers have to be struck by some kind of illness? I stopped watching around ep10. Doubt I will continue though.
    Hope these links work for you:
    http://tvbdo.com/show/289-the-hippocratic-crush-ii-episode-30
    http://www.qikuyou.com/video/dianshiju/662681.html
    http://www.33sp.com/tvb/578463.html

    • asl March 2, 2014 at 7:26 AM #

      Google didn’t lead me to any of those site you mention lol The first and last link didn’t work for me but the second one did. Thank you. I am finally at ease now that I finished the last episode. Kind of a disappointment but it didn’t effect me as much since I expected it to happen. I heard there was going to be a third installment? I hope it is not true.

      Excuse my ignorance but I have been curious about one thing. Since you live in Singapore I have been wondering since Malay, English and Mandarin are official languages there, how does television work? Communication? Do you know all 4 of the languages there?

      • J March 2, 2014 at 8:28 PM #

        haah, I found the 2nd and 3rd link using baidu, a chinese search engine.

        We have different tv channels airing programmes for each language. English is the common language used to communicate across races and subjects in school are taught in English as well but we also have to learn a second language of our ethnicity. Eg I’m an ethnic Chinese so I took Mandarin classes in school. I can speak (poorly my mom would say) Hokkien (a Chinese dialect) too but I picked that up at home. :p This link can explain the language landscape in Singapore better -> http://www.yoursingapore.com/content/traveller/en/browse/aboutsingapore/people-lang-culture.html

Leave a Reply

