[Impression] Ya Leum Chan ep 1 – 3

19 Apr

ylctitle2

The long anticipated partnership of Tik and Ann has pulled me back into drama watching with Ya Leum Chan. Tik is one of the big stars in Thai ent but the only lakorn of his I’ve watched (or rather attempted to) was ‘Wanida’. I lasted 45min maybe? The cast and costumes were so pretty but it all felt too artificial to me, like something out of a magazine shot rather than a story I could connect to. Not much of an impression of Tik there but surely he has his merits to reach his current status in show biz so I was happy to hear of the Tik/Ann pairing. The thing that made me go hmmmmmm was the storyline. It wasn’t really my kinda thing ya know but the BTS that came out made me hopeful that this power pairing could make it work.

So … how did it fare? As feared, the story is my main sticking point at the moment. Ok, so p’ek Khem was coldly dumped by his one true love Suriyawadee, who went off to marry an old, rich man. He then made it his life goal to get so filthy rich to make Suriyawadee regret leaving him for money. Fast forward to present day, Khem gets filthy rich as he aspired to and Suriyawadee re-appears in his life as his secretary, now a widow caring for 2 young children. (I’m just gonna refer to Ann’s character as Wadee cos she has so many names. Can anyone enlighten me as to why she is referred to as Nou Lek by her and her husband’s family? A nickname? A title?) As of ep3 we don’t know yet the full details of what made Wadee leave many years ago but at the very least it wasn’t for money like he assumed and she seemed to have endured many difficulties at her husband’s household.

Question: Why did Wadee choose to show up in Khem’s life again? Unless I missed something, she applied for the secretary position knowing full well who her boss will be. Yea, she needs a job to support her family whilst the twin’s inheritance is being processed but I’m sure there are plenty other companies looking for a secretary too. So, she purposefully puts herself back in Khem’s life for … what?  When Wadee’s parents told her to quit the job since her boss is making her work so hard, she said she will only go if her boss fires her ‘cos she doesn’t want to be the one leaving again. Sounds like she wants to make amends for the hurt she caused Khem? Then like half an episode later after Khem continues with his unreasonable demands, she tells him she’s had enough and is gonna quit whether he allows it or not. Okkkkkkkk. To pay penance? Wadee told Somkit that this might be her punishment. But I mean you know how much you hurt the guy when you walked out right? So by hanging round him now, wearing the ring that he gave you, doing everything that he tells you to, does that make him feel better? Does that make you feel better? Wadee keeps telling Khem that he needs to put the past down and move on – valid point – but you know your presence really isn’t helping unless deep down you’re really gunning for a reconciliation? I’m perplexed by Wadee’s motivation and she’s not making much sense to me at the moment. I do hope the lakorn gives a better explanation soon.

Then we have Khem. Dude, you need to get over yourself and stop being a childish stalker. That is all.

ylceg3

Surprisingly, the pairing that has captured my heart so far is Eua and Gaenlong! Rita’s acting to me is serviceable at best but Gaenlong is so easy to love with her sunny disposition and good sense, and it doesn’t hurt for Rita to look runway-ready gorgeous all the time. I like how she doesn’t let her feelings for Khem cloud her rational judgement of his heart. She knows she is still unable to reach that secret place he has locked away and till then she won’t allow them to officially progress beyond ‘good friends’. I would certainly save myself a lot of heartache if only I wouldn’t let my heart rule my head all the time! Ah, but I digress. Paradoxically, Eua and Gaenlong’s (currently) platonic p-nong relationship is what makes it so lovely to watch. They are able to genuinely care for each other without having to deal with the expectations and insecurities that come with falling in love. Have a drink together, dance to their favourite song, run away from the resort on Eua’s motorbike … 简单的,毫无负担的快乐。

I don’t actively dislike anyone yet (evil for evil’s sake side characters are automatically ignored since they currently don’t take up much screen time) so I will continue tuning in. Hopefully I will start to buy into Khem and Wadee’s angsty romance when more of their past is revealed.

8 Responses to “[Impression] Ya Leum Chan ep 1 – 3”

  1. picadrama April 20, 2014 at 2:03 AM #

    I think Wadee walked back in Khem’s life because she wanted to make sure that he was happy. If he wasn’t she would try to make amends. Seeing that Khem is in a relationship with Ghen, she probably thinks that he is in good hands… That’s my deduction 😀
    Plus Khem is so irrational that it’s hard for her to make amends. I think she expected him to be mad, but not that cray cray. The break up has most likely changed Khem’s personality a lot. To the point that she doesn’t always recognize him.

    • J April 20, 2014 at 9:57 PM #

      Wadee at least knows for sure that Khem is doing very well financially, so I’m wondering what kind of ‘amends’ she is thinking of making? She doesn’t seem to have considered going back to him at all, so I don’t see how her presence will be helpful to Khem in any way even if he is facing emotional/personal problems. Like now she realises he’s still so hung up about their past then decides she needs to walk away?

      I know the lakorn needs a reason to throw Wadee and Khem back together and lakorn’s not really the place to go looking for logic but it would’ve made more sense to me even if the show went with the pra’nang accidentally crossing paths again like the 101 other shows out there. :p

      How many episodes are you into YLC? Does it get easier to cheer the pra’nang on?

      • picadrama April 21, 2014 at 5:16 AM #

        I finished episode 5 two days ago. I watch it as soon as subs are done, which is often the day of. So far, I like Su but not Khem. He is being such a douche. What disturbs me the most is the fact that he is using the twins to convince Su that he is sincere. I really don’t like the fact that he is pulling the kids in. Also I am afraid that Su might not be able to have the twins’ inheritance because of Khem. So far I am cheering for Su and Eua although I feel that Eua and Ghen might have something going on… I have to admit that Eua and Ghen would make a cute couple plus they would avoid Khem’s madness!

  2. asl April 24, 2014 at 2:07 PM #

    I on the other hand need to start on episode 2. But I think I might have to go back to watch episode 1 since it has been 3 weeks I put it off. I am sort of turn off by Khem. Koravic was more more reasonable with his hatred. What a reversal of fate, in Jai Rao I had zero sympathy for nang ek. Here I have zero sympathy for pra ek. I have a feeling I will also be cheering for Eua and Ghen.

    Lately I have been watching multiple dramas where the lead were madly once in love but separated due to some circumstances. And watching YLC episode 1 was difficult for me to swallow.

    • asl April 24, 2014 at 2:11 PM #

      I totally forgot to mentioned, watch Kuan Kaan Tong Gub Gang Por Pla Lai… I know a long title but if you translated it into English it is Spinster vs. Casanovas. Many Asian dramas has touched upon single females in their 30s struggling thru life, love and career in modern day but this will be lakorn first time dealing with such issues. It’s really endearing, you should give it a shot.

    • J April 25, 2014 at 10:16 PM #

      I was probably too fixated on figuring out Wadee in my post I had no time left for Khem but I agree, no sympathy from me as well. I know that it’s not as easy as it sounds to get over someone that you love so much but Khem is being ridiculous. I actually ff his parts with Wadee near the end of ep3 to save myself the eye rolling.

      Yep, I have my eye on Kuan Kaan Tong Gub Gang Por Pla Lai too! If only to see Joy and Vicki as nang’ek again. 😀

      • asl April 26, 2014 at 7:52 AM #

        I just finished the first episode of KKTGGPPL phew even the acronym is long and it should be called Sassy Divas vs Gentlemen LOL I don’t understand some of the slangs, idioms and jokes in there, I will need subtitles and side notes to fully gasp the witty dialogues. But it is entertaining enough to keep me going without worrying too much.

  3. chobling April 27, 2014 at 2:48 AM #

    I have yet to start on YLC. I feel it’s one of those that needs to be marathoned (or is it marathonned?). I like the theme of old lovers meeting again (Persuasion by Jane Austen is one of my favorite novels), but from the opening credits, Tik seemed quite angry, so I figured I’d wait until it ends or I’ll end up stopping it in the middle if I get too pissed off by the p’ek and never go back to finish it.

    I also keep meaning to watch KKTGGPPL, too, but time constraints have made it impossible for now. It’s on my ever-growing list of lakorns to watch.

Leave a Reply

