Lakorn Challenge

24 Aug

I’ve seen the 30 Day Asian Drama Challenge around on blogs/tumblr but there doesn’t seem to be a lakorn equivalent so I made one up! I took some questions from the 2 versions of Asian Drama Challenge and added a bunch of my own. I found 30 questions a little too much and several were repetitive so I whittled them down to 20.

Do leave a link to your blog/tumblr if you’re taking on this challenge ‘cos I’d love to read your answers and discover more great lakorns! Feel free to be as brief or as detailed as you like, most importantly have fun sharing your lakorn experiences~ My own answers will be coming up soon.Ā 

  1. How did you start watching lakorns?
  2. Your all time favourite lakorn?
  3. Your least favourite lakorn?
  4. Your favourite lakorn OST?
  5. The last lakorn you watched?
  6. What lakorn are you currently watching?
  7. A lakorn you looked forward to but disappointed you in the end?
  8. A lakorn you started without expectations but loved it in the end?
  9. Preferred lakorn type (revenge, slap/kiss, boran, romcom etc)?
  10. Favourite male/female character?
  11. Least favourite male/female character?
  12. A lakorn character you’d like to be friends with in real life?
  13. A lakorn character you’d marry in real life?
  14. Lakorns are full of psycho villains. Who makes your blood boil the most?
  15. A lakorn character that is most like you?
  16. Most memorable lakorn confession?
  17. Most memorable first meeting of the main couple?
  18. Favourite lakorn ending?
  19. Top 3 couples in a lakorn?
  20. Top 3 actor/actress pairing?
9 Responses to “Lakorn Challenge”

  1. jamieguo48 August 25, 2013 at 11:45 AM #

    Oooh, my response! http://jamieguo48.livejournal.com/82972.html

    How is Kehad See Dang? I want to try out more Andrew Gregson lakorns, but I think I heard this one was boring and the couple didn’t have much chemistry.

    I’m watching Sud Sai Pan, its pretty entertaining and I’m starting to like Toomtam and his boyishness. Also Master’s Sun is okay, wished leads had more chemistry.

    Looking forward to some more WGM, since the Global edition was popular, they should be having some new couples.

    • J August 25, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

      I watched and dropped KSD towards the end about a year plus back because I found the pacing too slow and there were too many noisy side characters. I’m doing a slow re-watch now ‘cos I’m in the mood for another period lakorn after ‘Baan Sai Thong’. I’m ff-ing all the none pra’nang parts since I already have an idea of the plot and I do enjoy watching Andrew Gregson as Khun Ruj. He does have a wonderful screen presence that draws you in. There are a few subbed clips of the couple’s scenes on youtube, perhaps you can check it out and see how you feel about them and if it’s enough to get you started on KSD.

      I’m hesitant about starting on SSP ‘cos the p’ek sounds like a big jerk. I’ll wait for it to finish airing and check out reviews before I get started!

  2. Fia August 26, 2013 at 2:02 PM #

    My turn- I tried to complete the challenge in one swoop: I don’t guarantee any coherency though. But it’s so fun and thanks for an awesome idea, Nong J! http://lovefia.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/20-questions-lakorn-challenge/

    I’d like to chime in about Andrew Gregson, he’s really something, isn’t he? One of my faves from the older, classic leading men from channel 7. He’s great with Janie, if you wanna check it out- mistaken identity, kidnap, slap-kiss, etc, minus the ‘rape’ scenes in typical, older lakorns. It’s called Cupid’s Path or Tarng Parn Kammathep. I also love a ton of his other lakorns too, but they’re mostly pre-KSD.

    • J August 27, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

      I did check out Cupid’s Path but for some reason I dropped it around the first episode. Maybe I will give it another shot since I’m going old school these days?? haa.

  3. Emily August 26, 2013 at 2:09 PM #

    Ohh going to start to challenge on my blog!! So addicted to lakorns ā¤
    http://crazyasianfangirl.tumblr.com/tagged/lakorn%20challenge

  4. crazysimplesandi August 28, 2013 at 11:44 AM #

    http://sandihlubkoj.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/lakorn-challenge-1-6/

    Here’s my answers to the first 6 questions. (: I’m answering them in sections because I feel like I can’t always check my blog everyday.

    • J August 28, 2013 at 8:16 PM #

      Hi there, take your time with it and have fun! šŸ˜‰

  5. suzsuz September 11, 2013 at 10:52 AM #

    hey..thanks for this challenge!! It was fun.. and i love reading other ppl’s response because then I know which lakorn to watch out for. Here is my response:

    http://diysuzsuz.blogspot.com/2013/09/20-questions-lakorn-challenge.html

    p/s- Im a silent reader and this is my first time commenting. So, this is my hello. Hai I’m suz!!

    • J September 12, 2013 at 9:05 PM #

      Hello Suz! I too love reading other people’s take on lakorns. Even if I don’t end up watching dramas that people talk about, it’s still interesting to see the different takes people have on it.
      Hopefully you’ll discover more interesting lakorns thru this lakorn challenge. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

