On Call 36 Hours II

2 Apr

All these recent talk of ‘On Call 36 Hours’ is making want to re-watch the show and it’s also getting me real excited for the sequel which is in the works. I’ve translated a recent interview of Kenneth Ma and Tavia Yeung where they talk about the sequel but if you don’t want to spoil yourself, have a Yat Kin Tau/Yu Zai centric MV and turn away for now!

Sequel’s teaser from TVB’s sales presentation.

– On the sequel’s story

T: In this sequel, it’s impossible that we (Yat Kin Tau and Yu Zai) separate or have a 3rd party come between us. We got married and in the show we will have a kid but because my illness recurred, we had to abort the baby and this caused some problems between us. He doesn’t want the baby because it would endanger my health but I really want the baby because he is the only son in the family and I  wanted to give him a child so that’s the cause of conflicts. Family, career and his own personal career will also encounter problems because of me.

K: I will need this wife to support me and give me strength to get back on my feet.

T: He will have major problems with his career – his job, his confidence, family will all have problems. And in order to encourage him, I gave up my favourite cardiothoracic surgery and switched to the pathology department where I will work with Lawrence Ng.

Interviewer: And there may be some relationship complications?

T & K: Oh nononono, no 3rd party can get between us.❤

K: An interesting thing about this script is, if you’ve watched ‘On Call 1’, you will know that she was the more pro-active one but in the sequel, when we are apart I will be the one taking the initiative to woo her back again. I find that interesting.

Both of them says that about 1/3 of the sequel has been filmed.

– Talking about each other

T: He’s a great guy, fantastic! He likes to stay at home. Not the kind who stays at home glued to the computer but to accompany his mom. He takes good care of his family is and very filial (Kenneth interjects to say ‘so are you’ and Tavia agrees. lol) His usual activies – though I don’t stay with him – he leaves work late and wakes up early. There’s lots of time but he doesn’t sleep, don’t know what he’s doing. Reading the newspaper at home, ask his friends out for soccer, go for tea with his mom, pick his mom up after she is done with mahjong. Haaa~ am I right? (K: Yes) I don’t stay with him but I know all his daily activities (K: Why do you know so much) I don’t know~

K: I know her very well too. Usually when she’s not filming, she also stays at home with her mom. (T: And what else?) oh yes, her dog.

They then talk about how they wish to take on happier or comedic roles in the future so they won’t have to keep crying or dying. Haaa.

Leave a Reply

