2nd chance for My Dear Fake Husband

13 Mar

KSposter

When I checked out Khun Samee Kamalor Tee Ruk (My Dear Fake Husband) soon after it aired, I went in expecting hijinks of the ‘What Happened in Vegas’ sort but what I got was an overbearing nang’ek engaging in petty office arguments and a mild- mannered pra’ek trying to avoid his overbearing grandma. Despite Chompoo and Rome looking great, there wasn’t any sparks between Pim and Don at their first meeting and the meandering story in ep1 didn’t look like it had a destination in mind so out the window this lakorn went.

I picked it up again last week cos I was desperate for something download-able on my iPhone to watch on my commute to work but even then ep2 was equally uninspiring and I would probably have dropped it again if not for the fact that the alternative was me staring into the space for 40mins on the train.


Then ep3 happened. The lakorn fiiiiiiinally gets to the part where Pim forces Don to sign the marriage certificate in a drunken state and seals the deed by calling her dad in the middle of the night to announce that she found a husband. The premise of this fake marriage is rather flimsy seeing how the certificate is actually not legally binding since it wasn’t sent to the marriage registry and Pim’s only reason for keeping up the charade was not to upset her parents again after the debacle at her wedding with Eg. But otherwise, it was like a switch flipped and the characters suddenly came to life and replaced the walking cardboard cutouts we saw previously. The kinship/friendships here feels so natural that it’s a joy to watch and I especially love Don’s playful interaction with his sister Min. Most importantly, EVERYONE’S SO AMAZINGLY SENSIBLE I wonder if I’m watching a lakorn.

I laughed when Don’s publisher/friend Ging analysed the fake marriage situation and predicted how it will end up novel-style, which was how I predicted how this lakorn would go. Don went against my expectations by deciding that he did not want their relationship to start based on lies and he took the initiative to end this strange arrangement with Pim before she had the chance to kick him out of her house. The charade may still continue yet as Pim is adamant on bringing Don back as her fake husband for her parents’ sake but as of midway through ep4, Don is gentle but firm in not letting Pim walk all over him. For once we don’t have a pra’ek making life difficult for the nang’ek due to malice or a misplaced sense of superiority but genuinely for her own good. As for Pim, she is aware when she’s in the wrong but she’s just too obstinate to give in to others and like what her best friend Nen said, I think Pim has met the man who will bring her temper down a notch or two. We even get a little peek into Lan’s (Pim’s nemesis at work) private life which help shape her into a real person instead of existing only as ‘that bitch at work’. The office storyline also gets interesting with a case of leaked trade secrets so it’s not stuck at Pim and Lan calling each other names at every other encounter.

Don and Pim have not yet gotten me to root for them as a couple but their interactions are funny and I’m cautiously optimistic that Khun Samee will deliver.

2 Responses to “2nd chance for My Dear Fake Husband”

  1. jamieguo48 March 14, 2013 at 5:02 AM #

    Are these loooong episodes, of the one hour and thirty minutes plus variety or the shorter 45 minute variety? Since 3-4 episodes doesn’t sound that long to get the plot really moving. I think its short with only 14 episodes so depending on length, it can’t lag that much.

    Isn’t it funny how you can be so impressed that people are acting sensible, haha. I think I read everyone proclaiming what a great guy Rome plays (I think Chompoo said he’s the type of guy that doesn’t really exist in real life) and I like what you said about him, he’s sweet, but at the same time he doesn’t let people walk all over him, which is often the case with the beta hero type.

    I think I read on asianfuse that Chompoo was too much to take at times, coming off as a real b*tch.

    • J March 14, 2013 at 1:16 PM #

      I think only Ch5 has 45min episodes? This one is 1.5hrs/ep so I felt that the lakorn would have done well to skip the lame office politics and get to the meat of the story earlier.

      Haaa, what does it say about lakorns and me that I’m amazed by people being not-insane? There’s usually a deluded best friend and psycho ex/mom/uncle for every normal character in a lakorn so I’m glad to be spared from those here … at least I hope none will pop up later. Sometimes I feel like I’m watching ‘Mia Taeng’ in reverse, with Rome as the good-looking, sensible, perfect-in-every-way husband and Chompoo as the hard-headed wife who needs educating. For all of Pim’s faults, she’s at least not dumb like Khongkai, but then again Khongkai’s stupidity is hard to beat. XD I’m tolerating Pim for now and I hope I won’t have to wait till the last episode for her to show some character development.

Leave a Reply

