What’s on my lakorn horizon

27 Feb

The lakorns I were excited for end of last year didn’t quite hold my attention as I had hoped: Qi Pao lost me around ep4,5 while I checked out of Khun Samee and Buang Barp after 1 ep. But I’m still holding out hope that the following new batches of lakorns will be good!

Pan Ruk Pan Rai
I don’t keep tabs on Ch5’s lakorns so I didn’t know about this one till Fia blogged about it. It’s pretty 90s kdrama makjang stuff with switched identities, amnesia, backstabbing, lies yada yada yada I can write the rest in my sleep but idk, I’m in the mood for it and am actually kinda excited for the explosion of dramatics that’s sure to come. Having Charebelle in the lead role also helped my interest ‘cos I have developed a liking for her since Dok Soke for no apparent reason. I don’t need deep, inspiring plot, just keep it not-stupid and not-draggy and I’ll be happy. Good news for those interested, PRPR is being subbed on Viki!

Paen Rai Pai Ruk
Similar sounding title as the first one but this one is a romcom that’s in the vein of Suay Rerd Cherd Sod judging from the teaser (read the synopsis here). Film and Matt are super adorable in the BTS clips I’ve seen so far and it’s whetting my apetite for this lakorn. I won’t have to wait too long though, just read on baidu that it’s premiering on 18/3.

Madam Dun
This one I’ll have to wait for since the cast have just gone for the fitting. The story is none like what I’ve seen from lakorns till now. Ploy plays Madam Dun, an entertainment guru who discovers Mario the country boy and brings him into the entertainment world (thanks to Fia for this info). A refreshing story with a refreshing cast, I can’t wait! AND P’PLOY I LOVE ALL YOUR LOOKS AT THE FITTING! *retreats from creepy fangirl mode*

ETA
I expected Ploy and Mario to have a p/nong relationship and for the drama to be focused on the Thai ent industry but according to Lyn’s blog Mario will play Ploy’s love interest in MD, so will it not be that different from the typical lakorns except with an older woman/younger man pairing? Hmm, we shall see.

Anyone has other upcoming lakorns to rec?

3 Responses to “What’s on my lakorn horizon”

  1. Anonymous February 27, 2013 at 5:02 PM #

    2013 is going to be an exciting year for lakorns. For the immediate and upcoming future, I’m anticipating Maya Tawan, simply for Aum because I can’t wait to see him in a modern role again, not to mention a modern high class jerk! The rest of the 3 ladies reporter series, Pan Rai Pai Rak, Dao Ruerng, Supaburoot Juthathep series (I’m ready to take a step back into the olden days and watch bromances thrive and gentlemen courting their ladies,) Autumn in my heart (Aom+Tik, + Ananda producer debut), Madam Dun.

    For the unknown future (that may film or air in 2013) Dao Kiew Duen (Janie+ Aum, need I say more?) Yah Leum Chan (Tik+Ann, this is going to be the hottest pairing!) The Rising Sun Series (total guilty pleasure), Ton Rak Rim Rua (Mark+Kim), Wan Nee Tee Ror Koy (Ch.7, probably the only one I’ll watch b/c it’s an epic). I’m sure I’m forgetting something but 2013 horizon looks pretty promising thus far.

    As of now, I’m currently watching Pon Prom Onlaweng and Pan Rak Pan Rai (albeit very slowly…) Can’t wait for the immediate and upcoming lakorns this year! ~Fia

    • J February 28, 2013 at 3:18 PM #

      Oh yea! I forgot about Aum/Janie’s lakorn. I’m pretty excited about their chemistry!
      Re Tik/Ann which has many fans dancing with joy, I’m only ok~~~ about Yah Leum Chan in part due to the meh story (for me. I don’t fancy the ‘make life difficult for the one you love ‘cos of a misunderstanding’ set up) and – I’m gonna get bricked by Tik fans for this – Tik didn’t impress me in either Kaew Tah Pee or what little I saw of Wanida. Having said that, I’m curious about the Autumn in My Heart re-make because it was one of the first kdramas I watched yearsssss ago.

      • Anonymous February 28, 2013 at 10:45 PM #

        I have never seen Autumn in my heart, so this Thai version will be nice and fresh for me. I’m a huge fan of Tik- his first roles are pretty badass from Xact. He paired a lot with Aom Piyada in the past. I adore him in Prissana and although I disliked Kaew Tah Pee, I did find him so hott in Wanida that I forgave any acting transgressions. What can I say, I’m pretty biased. Now regarding Yah Leum Chan, it’s an old story- but what made the original so hot is the chemistry between Pete and Ann S. What I found appealing about the plot is this: they used to date and are madly in love but due to family financial issues, n’ek had to marry an older man (who has two kids.) So this pissed the p’ek off and he wanders abroad to study and make something of himself. And he does, comes back a multimillionaire and guess what, she happens to apply to be his secretary! Hah! The irony. The initial impression after so many years apart really sold me. The rest of the drama is spent working out their differences. Hopefully my summary is at least making you somewhat interested in checking it out. If anything, for Ann! Since she’s so excited to work with Tik- and since this is their first lakorn together- I’m hoping for some fireworks. But maybe I’m just setting myself up for high expectations and ultimately, a failure. A girl can dream.. ~Fia

Leave a Reply

