Rang Ngao ep 6

24 Jul

Thanks to encouragement from an Anon in my previous post, I picked up where I left off for ‘Rang Ngao’ and it turned out to be more interesting than I remembered! The first 5 episodes were centred on Tha, a sweet girl with an inferiority complex who got seduced into an extramarital affair by her boss. After suffering plenty of humiliation and bitch slapping from the boss’ wife, Tha returned to her home at the country side, broken and pregnant. She finally committed suicide when she felt that her pregnancy out of wedlock will bring shame to her parents. Now, Tha did suffer a lot at the hands of Nappa (the boss’ wife) but I found it hard to sympathize with her when she dug herself into this hole so after Tha died, I moved on to other dramas.

But now I think that RN’s ‘real’ start is at ep6 when Tha’s twin Nin returns and assumes Tha’s identity to avenge her death. Unlike Tha, Nin is a confident young lady who takes bs from no one and I was actually clapping at the screen throughout ep6 when Nin fights back. It was so funny to see the jaw-drop reaction of Tha’s colleagues when the usually mild and timid ‘Tha’ threw the insults right back anyone who dared to step on her. Revenge was sweet for Nin (dumping soda down Janepop’s pants was pure gold) and it was fun to watch for me but like what Veekit cautioned, Nin will inevitably get her own hands dirty if she continues with giving tit for tat. I doubt Nin will back off seeing how confident she is of her own abilities and as she gets to know more of what Tha suffered, anger will probably blind her to any mistakes she makes.

— —
For those interested, Fia has done a recap of a Rak Kun Tao Fah special where the cast talk about the story and the characters they play. Gf/Wife vs Mom is a realistic problem that many face and it seems like Ploy/Cherry/Chompoo have interesting and distinct characters but I’m still not convince that the overall plot makes for good tv. You give me 3 fantastic lakorn worthy relationships and have them all ruined by the guy’s over possessive mom 3 times in a row? I think relationship wrecking is a job best left to psycho exes or deluded childhood friends. Then after all that pain, Marie gets the man. Sigh, Ken’s too fine for that! Marie looks like a kid beside Ken and it’s gonna take a lot to sell them as a couple to me.

I’ve always been neutral towards Chompoo and have not yet found of a lakorn of hers that attracts me enough to want to check it out but after seeing her in this special, I suddenly feel like giving Mia Teang a shot. Hmmm.

6 Responses to “Rang Ngao ep 6”

  1. Anonymous July 24, 2012 at 3:14 PM #

    Thanks for the mention, J. I’m not going to be watching this either, just thought I’d cap it for you 🙂 Although, I yearn for the day that Ken picks another great drama! Preferably with someone worthy. XD

  2. att123 July 24, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

    So does Ken’s character know that she’s pretending to be her sister?

    • J July 25, 2012 at 1:51 AM #

      Not yet. No one in Bangkok knew Tha had a sister, much less a twin so despite Tha suddenly growing a spine after a month away, Veekit still thinks it’s her.

    • J July 25, 2012 at 5:38 AM #

      oops, watching ep7 and apparently Tha did mention to Veekit that she had an older sister but yea, Veekit has no idea at this point.

  3. Anonymous July 27, 2012 at 5:15 PM #

    I know some people are not happy w nin taking revenge bc her sister did it to herself but it is kind of complicated. I have never met my twin before but I still have this connection w her. its weird, many people mentioned I would talk to myself when I was younger out of the blue.

    there is also a lot of guilt coming from nin as well. she needs closure and by taking revenge is her only way. but in the end she eventually finds out the truth. geez I don’t want to spoil but its not really a spoiler, hopefully u know she think it was dodo (forgot his character’s name lol) and his wife who drove her sister to her death and that it was dodo who seduced her sister bc tha was that kind of girl who would believed and be swayed by a kind older man who approached and showered her with love.

    • J July 29, 2012 at 9:59 AM #

      Yea, the relationships in RN are pretty complicated but gives us food for thought. I’m mid episode 10 and Veekit is such a darling … how it is possible for such an earnest and kind person to r Nin later?? >:O

Leave a Reply

