Drama status

12 Apr

Dropped:
Rak Ok Arkad [ep watched 2/total ep 14][lakorn]: This sounds like a reverse ‘Poo Yai Lee Gab Nang Mah’ which I enjoyed tremendously and I wanted to like this for Cherry but the laughs were too slapstick and Om’s acting too stiff for me to carry on.

Forensic Heroes III [6/30][HK drama]: This one went for the CSI route but didn’t match up and it didn’t pull me in on the character front either so bye bye it was. Random observation: Age is really catching up with Maggie Cheung Ho-yee!

Too Late to Say I Love You [15/36][Cdrama]: Wallace Chung as Murong Feng charmed my socks in this one and I also loved the strong-willed heroine Jing Wan but after skimming through the novel on which the drama is based on, I couldn’t bear to watch the betrayal that I knew Jing Wan was going to suffer later. I did catch the last two episodes and the drama version white-washed Murong Feng to give him and Jing Wan a happy ending when in the novel, Murong Feng engineered an accident to kill Jing Wan's husband and daughter and to revenge him, Jing Wan carried her dead daughter to Murong Feng and lied that she was his biological daughter, then proceeded to kill herself with the gun that Murong Feng gave her years ago. How fun. I might finish this one day when I’m in the mood for angst.

Completed:
Boku to Star no 99 Nichi [10][Jdrama]: I started on this for Nishijima Hidetoshi’s sake and was ready to drop it if Kim Tae Hee annoyed me. I admit, I’m not the biggest fan of KTH and I’ve always admired her more for her looks than her acting but I ended up rather enjoying her here. The plot is so-so but the characters work well together to spin a simple fairy tale with lots of heart and it stole mine by the end. Like Takanabe will say, Fiyaaaaaaaa~~~

Team Batista 3: Ariadone no Dangan [11][Jdrama]: This is a decent mystery drama but there’s no central character that made me go gaga over like Hayami did in Team Batista 2. I did like Ikaruga and Sasai’s relationship but as usual, the romance is understated and it seems to me that they didn’t get back together in the end.

Strawberry Night [11+ SP][Jdrama]: This drama combined the elements from some of my favourite Japanese crime novels: The teamwork/legwork required in crime-solving (showcased in most of Tsuchiya Takao’s works) and the competition/politics between the different squads in the police force (Yokoyama Hideo’s ‘Daisan no Jikou’). I don’t find the cases particularly intriguing but I loved watching and learning about the members in the different squads, all with distinct personalities that make me remember them even long after the details of the cases are forgotten.

Unriddle 2 [20][Sg drama]: This sequel exceeded my expectations and it deserves a proper review!

Inborn Pair [84][Tw drama]: My interest waned after 50+ episodes when the conflicts got too drawn out but it was still nice to see everyone get their expected happy ending.

Watching Now:
Pang Sanaeha [14/18][lakorn]: It’s been rather draggy after ep10 and I’m utilizing the ff button a lot. Still, I will be seeing this one to the end if only to find out the whys and the hows.

On the cards:
Mam Gam Dang [lakorn]

On Call 36 Hours [HK drama]

10 Responses to “Drama status”

  1. jamieguo48 April 12, 2012 at 3:51 AM #

    Pang Sanaeha, ouch. Just ouch. You’ll get your answers, and then a new question pops up that is NEVER explained! I get the feeling that it was rushed in the end. Or if it’s from a novel, huge chunk were taken out. Why? I don’t know.

    • J April 12, 2012 at 6:01 AM #

      From the comments I saw on the yt videos, I believe PS is based on a novel but no idea how closely it followed the book. Oh man, guess I need to revise my expectations for this lakorn. Errr, does Dennis live at the end?

      • jamieguo48 April 12, 2012 at 11:56 PM #

        That would be a “NO!” I’ll have to complain to you once you’ve seen the ending. Don’t want to spoil it to much.

      • J April 13, 2012 at 5:30 AM #

        DDDD: Whyyyyyy … my badboy sia. I should be finishing it this weekend and then we can have a complain fest.

      • J April 14, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

        Just finished ep 17 and I really wanna puke blood. So many inconsistencies and poorly developed characters. Sigh, ch7 has disappoint once again.

      • Anonymous April 15, 2012 at 5:13 AM #

        Eeps, not sure if I wanna pick this up. Sorry to hear that it’s disappointing..
        Currently spazzing over MGD. Can you believe Khun Seuk is airing on May 1st?! Not sure if I’ll like the boran (old fashioned) clothing and war plot, but I’m just excited to see Aum onscreen once again. Not to mention with Ploy…
        How’s your weekend so far? xoxo Fia

      • J April 15, 2012 at 9:32 AM #

        I just wrote a long rant on PS. You can read it and skip the lakorn. XD
        I’ll be away when Khun Seuk airs! But at least I’ll have a few episodes to watch in on shot when I get back from my trip. hehe. My next lakorn line up will be alternating between MLP and MGD depending on how fast the subs get release and of course KS in a few weeks time. I sincerely hope at least one of these lakorns get me hook because it’s been a while since I spazzed over a lakorn.
        Now that I’m done with PS, I’ll continue planning my trip for the rest of my Sunday. weeee, really excited for it! 🙂

  2. jamieguo48 April 12, 2012 at 3:53 AM #

    Oh, in Boku to Star no 99 Nichi, do the pair have a rather platonic relationship? Because it reminds me of Star no Koi, which I liked, but wished the couple had actually looked liked they were physically into each other.

    • J April 12, 2012 at 6:03 AM #

      Their chemistry is more warm and fuzzy than sizzling hot. Uhm, they shared two kisses but of the tame kind.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looking back on 2012 | Scribblings of a fangirl - July 11, 2017

    […] Strawberry Night 2) My 99 Days with a Star 3) Team Batista 2: General Rogue no Gaisen (drama, SP and movie) 5) Team […]

Leave a Reply

