Pang Sanaeha first impressions

5 Apr

psh11

Wow, didn’t realise I haven’t watched a lakorn for almost half a year. Well, I’m finally back with Pang Sanaeha. I don’t know much about the story but the feedback online seems positive and it also stars Gun Kantathaworn, my evil-and-hot vampire from Rak Mai Mee Wan Tai so I decided to give it a shot. The first half of the first episode was a bit blah for me but after Tae (Tle) finally accepts that the pretty ghost following him isn’t going anywhere and decides to help her, the plot starts moving forward. I’m two episodes in and so far it’s been a good mix of humour, mystery and horror (ghost count: 3).

I believe the green-face ghost is Ketsarina and signs point to her having been murdered by Sak and Oi but I’m still trying to figure everything else out. Siangwann’s real identity is the obvious mystery but I’m more intrigued by Paul/Petch’s side of the story. Why the name change? Why is he working for a drug lord (though I must say the black suits required of a drug lord’s henchman makes Gun look oh so delicious)? What is his relationship with Deun? Initially I thought they were siblings and he was working for Dennis for his sister’s sake but from the way they addressed each other, it doesn’t look like the case. They don’t act like lovers either so what’s their deal? Something happened to both of them in Pak Chong and how does that something tie in to everything else? Ah, so many questions and I’m looking forward to unveiling them one by one. Just hope the answer will be a satisfactory one!

Despite the number of ghosts running around, the horror quotient isn’t high but I have a very low tolerance of such stuff so it’s been enough to creep me out. I watched ep2 at night when I was home alone and the scene where Sak struggled with his bicycle in the rain only to realise Ketsarina was sitting behind really made my skin crawl. Fortunately, there aren’t many such genuinely scary (to me) moments and the ghost scenes are usually more funny than scary like when Ketsarina came asking for Tae’s help and he muttered that he wasn’t the ghost whisperer. OTP wise, there hasn’t been much development so far so not feeling much for either pair and I’m actually enjoying the interaction between Tae and Sri more. This show is off to a good start and hopefully this will be the first Ch7 lakorn that I enjoy!

For readers of this blog who know Thai, I gather from the subs that Siangwaan uses ‘sab’ in place of ‘roo’ (to know) and if I didn’t misunderstand, is ‘sab’ a dialect or a less commonly used word? This is the first time I’ve come across it.

Lakorn news: Kudalakorn has translated a detailed synopsis of Ruk Khun Tao Fah and my anticipation of this lakorn has just dropped by 100 points. It’s just … not my kinda thing. Even with the power cast, I doubt I’ll be sitting through this one.

8 Responses to “Pang Sanaeha first impressions”

  1. jamieguo48 April 5, 2012 at 7:45 PM #

    i find the show has more depth then a lot of lakorns. There are a lot of mysteries here, and I thought I had some things figured out, but it turned out wrong (don’t want to spoil things for you, but one of your guesses is wrong). Which is a good thing. I like the complexity of the events.

    Also, I’m surprised by the drug lord and his two girls. Am I supposed to be wishing his wife to get him back, even though he’s a drug lord? I

    • J April 6, 2012 at 6:05 AM #

      omo, is Miss Green Face not Ketsarina?? Haaa, most lakorns set the stage by ep1 and you know how everyone relates to everyone else but here it’s like you get thrown in the middle of the story and have to figure out the clues yourself. It’s a nice change from the standard lakorns. 🙂
      I also don’t know how I am supposed to feel about the ‘love triangle’ going on with Dennis! For once the manipulative woman is not messing around with the p’ek. lol. Dennis is not a pleasant person but I feel he still does love Deun so I guess I’m kinda hoping at least Jenjira’s fake mask gets exposed soon?

      • jamieguo48 April 6, 2012 at 11:05 PM #

        Hehe. Er, perhaps I jumped the gun there a little? I thought I knew where it was going, but turns out I may have been mistaken.

        On episode 9 now, that witch doctor is a hoot, I love his laugh, and lots more about our love triangle drug lord fest. I think I understand what’s going on there… Um, maybe? I like the pace. Something changes or comes up every episode to make me go on and want to watch more. And halfway through, I’ve still got tons of questions I need answers for.

      • J April 7, 2012 at 5:01 AM #

        I’m not emotionally invested in the characters (hmm, maybe Paul cos Gun makes me hot under the collar. lol) but yea, I like the twists and turns the lakorn churns out.

  2. Anonymous April 9, 2012 at 4:42 AM #

    The term “saab” is a formal word for “to know, understand.” “Roo” is the informal, so essentially saab is used when you’re speaking formally to adults or audience, whereas “roo” is to your friends (or to be blunt.) I’ll be reading the RKTF synopsis soon.. thanks for sharing dearie! xoxo Fia

    • J April 9, 2012 at 6:04 AM #

      Thanks for the explanation! I’m curious why I never noticed this word before in other lakorns since I hear ‘roo’ all the time. haa. In PS, the characters use ‘sab’ a lot more than ‘roo’ though.

      • Anonymous April 9, 2012 at 8:01 AM #

        Ok so I read the synopsis of RKFT and I feel so let down. The storyline is definitely not for me, so suffice it to say, I will not be partaking in this lakorn!
        I haven’t seen PS yet so not sure what context they are using saab for.. but the two words roo and saab are pretty interchangeable- it’s all in the writers preference, formal or informal, I suppose. I bet once you start familiarizing with this word, you’ll notice it a lot more in lakorns 🙂 I hear it quite a bit.
        Can’t wait for Khun Suek and TNNKK!

      • J April 9, 2012 at 8:23 AM #

        Re: RKTF. It’s such a waste of the cast! The story sounds like the same thing repeated 4 times with a different woman and the last one gets a happy ending. D:

        It’s fun to learn a new language as I enjoy a drama. Haa, but when I actually visit Thailand, I only dare to say thank you and sorry in Thai because I’m not sure of my tones!

Leave a Reply

