Stepfather Step – the novel

23 Feb

As requested by the anon in my previous post on the Jdrama ‘Stepfather Step’, I will attempt to translate the novel that the drama was based on. The novel is pretty long so I’m not sure if I can last to the end but fortunately it’s divided into 7 stories which can stand alone so I’ll try my hand at the first story and see where it leads.

I’m translating this from the Chinese translation so accuracy will naturally be discounted but I hope to be able to keep the spirit of the novel.

Stepfather Step – Miyabe Miyuki

1.
I think I bumped my head on something.

When I opened my eyes, the images in front of my eyes appeared to overlay. The lights on the ceiling … the big circular pattern on the curtains beside me … and the small face staring at me.

“Ah! His eyes have opened.” That face said.

The voice sounded like it came from one person but there were two faces -two faces looking exactly the same – in front of me. Both faces were blurry. I tried moving my body but I couldn’t feel anything in my limbs and the only thing I could do was to blink my eyes. After blinking a few times, the light on the ceiling ended up turning into three then melding into one again. Those two small faces came over and stared at me again as my vision began to shrink.

“Oh dear, he fell asleep again.” I heard that small face’s voice at the same time my eyes closed. That’s right, good night.

The next time I opened my eyes, there was only one light on the ceiling. The curtains were opened and sunlight streamed into the house through the frosted glass. Judging from the angle of the light source, it should be morning right now.

Where am I? I asked myself and I could feel my memory and reason finally returning together. However under such circumstances, both are probably unwelcomed guests and the only way to keep them out was for me to remain unconcious. I really wish I never needed to wake up but Memory and Reason have both returned home and were sitting in front of me perfectly intact. My eyes were also opened and all my senses were functioning normally, so irritatingly normal. I was hurting all over, as if millions of little hammers were beating down on my body and the pain was coming from inside. My head and shoulders were in serious pain as well, especially my right arm which felt like it had declared independence from my body and was protesting vehemently against my right shoulder. Truth is I might have dislocated it already.

Even blinking caused my head to buzz. Shoot, something might really be wrong with me. Perhaps I will spend the rest of my life being nailed to the bed and unable to get up.

Memory spoke, “Small wonder, you did fall from such a great height!”

Reason started speaking too. “You’re fortunate to even be alive, don’t you think?”

I shook my head in an attempt to get rid of these two but I ended up crying out in pain from this stupid action. It wasn’t just a yelp – ‘blood curling scream’ might be a more fitting description.

Just then I heard the sound of the door opening, followed by soft footsteps which stopped as they neared me. My eyes were squeezed shut from the intense pain so the following sounds and voices were received in darkness.

“Great, you’re awake.”

I sneaked a peek with one eye and saw two faces again, two faces side by side looking exactly the same. Hey, I still have not completely recovered! I thought. Is this going to be how it is from now on? Having double vision? Humans have two eyes to begin with so this might probably be more natural.

“How do you feel?”

“Are you ok?”

Two faces spoke at the same time.

Now do I realise that there’s a problem because I thought I saw the face on the left say ‘How do you feel’ and the face on the right ask ‘Are you ok?’. When I refocused my eyes to look, both faces were looking at me with interest.

“Do we have something,”

“on our faces?”

Once again the face on the right and left said different things. I think I might be losing my mind. I tried closing one eye and the two faces looked at each other.

“Are you,”

“Ogling at us?”

When they saw me trying to close my other eye, both faces smiled at the same time. On right the cheek of the left face and on the left cheek of the right face, there was each a dimple.
I opened my eyes and raised my head slightly. The two faces were connected to two different bodies. Although they were wearing the same shirt and sweater, the design on their chest was different. Both were English alphabets, one was T and the other S.

Both faces said in unison, “We are twins.”

5 Responses to “Stepfather Step – the novel”

  1. J February 24, 2012 at 1:47 AM #

    You can let me know your name so I won’t be addressing you as ‘the anon’, haha.

    • Anonymous February 26, 2012 at 1:52 AM #

      You can call me Zani 🙂 I actually have a blog as well but it’s not as nice as yours :))

      • J February 27, 2012 at 2:01 AM #

        Hi Zani, thanks for the encouraging comment. I started this blog to fangirl on my own but I’m happy it has developed to a place where I can meet other fans and exchange thoughts on the things we love. 🙂 Do you blog on dramas too? Or is it a personal blog for yourself?

      • Anonymous April 24, 2012 at 8:13 AM #

        Sorry I never replied back to your comment! It’s a random blog. I talk about personal things, dramas and animes. I’m a versatile watcher really.

      • J April 24, 2012 at 8:15 AM #

        Heeh, no problem. Just to let you know, the translation will be on hold till later half of May as I’m busy with work and my holiday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

