Inborn Pair update

9 Feb

So, we’re at the halfway mark of ‘Inborn Pair’ and it’s time to do a progress report! I voiced my concern about its length when I first started watching and while there are inevitably fillerish bits, it doesn’t feel as drawn out as I had expected. Like I mentioned before, standard tropes are employed in loads – fake illness, fake marriage, fake pregnancy, bitchy female third wheel, devoted male third wheel etc – but the script manages some degree of restrain with the melodramatic elements and at least the emotions feel realistic even if the situations aren’t. I’m sure it’s possible to fall madly and deeply in love with someone over a short period of time but most relationships out there take time to develop and build which is why I enjoy watching Wei Xiang/Yi Jie slowly go from strangers, to friends, to family and I’m sure, eventually to lovers.

Initially I was frustrated with how Wei Xiang dealt with Luo Yun and wish he was more firm in letting her know he has nada interest in her, instead of letting her hang around to cause trouble between him and Yi Jie but now I thought it was actually in character of him to behave that way. Wei Xiang is a principled man who is also straightforward to a fault and to him, he’s honestly treating Luo Yun as a good friend so he doesn’t get it when Yi Jie is upset about him being ‘too close’ to Luo Yun. At that time, Wei Xiang likes Yi Jie as a person and is grateful to her for going along with the fake marriage for Granny’s sake but he doesn’t yet feel anything special for her so it’s only natural that he isn’t as sensitive to her feelings. However, as times passes, he is slowly drawn to Yi Jie and by now he is starting to acknowledge his feelings to her. The transition from him begging Yi Jie to come home for Granny’s sake after the Luo Yun fiasco to him now caring for Yi Jie’s physical and emotional well-being is pretty well done.

Yi Jie on the other hand, is harder to figure out. In the Luo Yun arc, she was obviously jealous and was shown to be upset when she thought Wei Xiang was getting it on with Luo Yun behind her back. But now she’s all oblivious to Wei Xiang’s not-so-subtle declaration of interest in her and it’s hard for me to believe she has no inkling of the changes in his feelings. I suppose I could put it down to her believing that Luo Yun is the best match for Wei Xiang and already convincing herself that once her contract marriage is up after 1 year, Wei Xiang will move on to Luo Yun and thus not entertain any possibility of her and Wei Xiang. The reappearance of Dong Yang is also a pretty big distraction but still, Yi Jie’s development is not as consistent as that of Wei Xiang. Hopefully as her past with Dong Yang comes to light, there will be a more detailed portrayal of Yi Jie’s inner world to allow us to better understand her current reactions.

Nevertheless, I enjoy watching all of Wei Xiang and Yi Jie’s interactions. Though they are not crazy in love, they do have a strong affection for each other and it makes me all warm and fuzzy inside to just see Wei Xiang/Yi Jie treat each other right.
Going back to Dong Yang, Chris Wu is doing a fabulous job as the ex who is giving Wei Xiang a run for his money. On one hand I’m rooting for Wei Xiang to get the girl, on the other I can’t help but feel for Dong Yang who was forced to give up his love due to his illness. From the previews it appears that Yi Jie will learn of Dong Yang’s illness soon so I wonder how long it will take for the Dong Yang arc to play out and if Luo Yun will return to cause more chaos. Anyhow, I hope the show continues with the nice balance of fun and drama without going overboard.

Other highlights so far
– Yi Jie’s mom and granddad. They love Yi Jie to bits and are fiercely protective of her but they are also super cool individuals who are a delight to be around. Mom and Granddad make a hilarious tag team and they never fail to make me laugh with their ‘cross talk’.
– Wei Cheng. He’s Wei Xiang’s lazy, n’er-do-good younger brother and I didn’t pay much attention to him at first but he’s one of my favourite characters now. He may be playful and childish but he’s not a mean person and I love his snarkiness. He has such funny lines that I watch his scenes with Li-er even though I don’t really care for their relationship.

The blah bits
– Yan Ni/Ke Fan/Jia Jia. It’s not exactly going the route of ‘The Fierce Wife’ like I thought but either way, I can’t root for anyone in this triangle so I skip most of their parts.
– Granny. She’s technically one of the ‘good guys’ since she’s the major reason why our OTP is together but I take issues with her methods. I don’t understand why she’s so hung up about the betrothment and is willing to emotionally blackmail her beloved grandson into a marriage with someone he barely knows. Even after the marriage, she’s constantly using her ‘illness’ as leverage to get Wei Xiang/Yi Jie to do what she wants. Ok, I get that you are concern about their relationship but ya know, perhaps it should’ve occurred to you in the beginning that they do not have much foundation for a marriage. Sure, we all know that Yi Jie turns out to be a good woman for Wei Xiang but what if she’s simply not compatible? Wouldn’t Granny have ruined the relationships of two person? Meh, perhaps this is a case of ‘let’s just accept it as a necessary plot device or we wouldn’t be getting any drama’.

13 Responses to “Inborn Pair update”

  1. Anonymous February 9, 2012 at 1:33 PM #

    Hie it’s 笑茶 again! 🙂

    Wow your English is freaking good! 🙂 Succinct and right to the point. Much to learn from you!

    I think the 4-way triangle will officially start tomorrow (Ep 43). LY is back. And WX looked really upset in the preview. I haven’t seen him having such a serious expression before.

    You are right about WeiXiang. The scriptwriters gave WX a lot of screen time/flashbacks/OS to portray his thoughts. I could actually feel his pain and jealousy even just from the previews. Not to mention that sly happy smile when he sees YJ’s face light up because of what he did for her. His personality has indeed been consistent, and it seems the wood that is WX has met his flame. 燃烧吧!伟翔!Since the plot dictates that he has to be tortured because all heroes have to go through that stage, I will just bear with it.

    Re YJ’s responses towards WX’s initiatives. I have analysed (maybe, over-analysed) her expression changes and I do think that she does have that inkling. But as you mentioned, she is not wanting to entertain any possibility between her and WX for various reasons. So whenever WX wants to take a step closer to her, she chooses to change the topic subtlely. In fact, she’s pretty smart at that. And she never looks into the WX’s eyes whenever this topic is brought up. Her body language tells me she is avoiding any possibility of a relationship between her and WX.

    I also totally agree with you about Granny. I found her being too aggressive over the whole bethrothment, even the pregnancy part, but as you said, it is a necessary plot device. Without her, those two won’t get too far along in their marriage as well. Granny, though, has her cute, fluffy moments. So I will just ignore the other aggressive side of Granny.

    As for now, I am feeling very nervous for YJ. I wonder how is she going to resolve the conflict tomorrow, because WX looked really freaking mad, and obviously jealous of DongYang. I have a feeling LY will know the seriousness of DY’s sickness before YJ, and she might be the one who tells YJ about it, seeing that she sensed that DY seems to be important to YJ. It’s good that the conflicts are getting intensified though, which brings the audience. But I don’t know how my little heart can take it. The final plot device that makes me all nervous is that their marriage is built on really flimsy ground, with one lie after another. I kinda hope all the lies get found out so that the OTP will have a fresh start.

    Do keep writing! Love the way you play with words and gather your thoughts! 🙂

    • J February 10, 2012 at 9:13 AM #

      谢谢你很用心的留言,期待我们在这部剧上更多的交流! 😀

  2. jamieguo48 February 10, 2012 at 4:36 AM #

    Sounds like the real angst of the story comes from the exes. Hmm. Not anything new. So by now, both characters are digging each other, but ex boyfriend’s in the way. I would hope in a drama this long, they maybe acknowledge their feelings around ep 60 maybe? Then there can be baby angst!

    • J February 10, 2012 at 5:42 AM #

      Yep, the plot itself doesn’t offer many surprises but the execution makes it engaging enough for me to follow up till now. The main girl’s feelings are still not clear at the moment but I spot some hot kisses in the previews so I think there should be progress soon! XD

      • Anonymous February 10, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

        very, very, very, hot kiss!! Way hotter than expected, totally didn’t expect it for an 8pm drama! XD
        -笑茶-

  3. Anonymous February 15, 2012 at 4:56 PM #

    ps: Granny is kinda getting kicked by her own karma recently 😉 YJ’s not someone to play fire with 😉
    -smiletea-

    • J February 16, 2012 at 9:28 AM #

      heeh, is YJ getting suspicious of Granny now? It won’t be pretty when YJ finds out she was tricked into this marriage!

      • Anonymous February 17, 2012 at 3:13 PM #

        nope not yet 🙂 but Granny still can’t eat her favourite meat dish and was forced to “go see the doctor” 😉

        ep 48 was more on LE and CC.

        but next week should be interesting when LY sees that photo 🙂

  4. Anonymous February 19, 2012 at 5:52 AM #

    Thank you for this blog post. I have developed a not-so-secret addiction to Inborn Pair (http://taiwanxifu.com/2012/02/18/the-taiwan-soap-saga/). I came to this soap fairly late, and am not playing catch-up. I haven’t found much material about it in English, so appreciate the update and psycho-analysing.

    With Yijie, I think she is starting to guess (hope?) that Weishan is changing his feelings for her but two things are holding her back. The first is her feeling of being let down by men. First with her father abandoning her before she graduated (okay, admittedly he died in the line of action but to her it probably felt like abandonment), and the second was being left so suddenly and without explanation by Dong Yang. It is no coincidence that she sees herself as a crusader for women’s rights. She has probably rationalised her experiences by convincing herself that all men are bastards who eventually leave.

    The second is that Weishan has been a bit inconsistent in his treatment of her in the past, moving from seemingly romantic gestures one day and then doing something that seems to cancel out any caring intention the next day. This is particularly obvious in the earlier episodes, where Yijie technically hates him but her disappointment hints at lost hopes for something more (e.g. Weishan trying to ‘woo’ her only to find out that it is only because Grandma is supposedly very ill, some tender pre-wedding preparation concerns, only to accidentally find Weishan kissing Luoyuan on the night of their wedding pictures, and giving Yijie a beautiful pen only to end up finding him on the sofa with Luoyun not long after. I think she is trying to protect herself by not expecting too much; she has seen Weishan doing considerate things for people he values but it does not always mean he is in love with them.

    And yes, I also agree that Yijie thinks that Weishan plans to be with Luoyun anyway so, after an initial attempt at fighting for her stake, feels it pointless to intervene.

    Just finished watching episodes 43 and 44 — agree that was one passionate kiss that seemed to go on and on and on. Frustrating that Weishan stil can’t seem to verbalise his feelings, but I guess they need to drag on the script further.

    I actually like the Wang Kefan character. I feel sorry for him; everyone assumes he has it made as son-in-law, but actually he seems to be the only one doing any real work in the company while his wife keeps suggesting he is only in his position because of her.

    • J February 19, 2012 at 12:02 PM #

      Hi there! Thanks for dropping by.
      I see Yi Jie as being very insecure about relationships after the abrupt break up with Dong Yang so she’s being an ‘ostrich’ about Wei Xiang’s overtures. No expectations equals no disappointments right? The honeymoon episodes felt a bit draggy to me despite the lovey dovey scenes but now that Luo Yun and Dong Yang are back in the picture, I think the plot should move along next week.
      btw, can you read Chinese (I assume you understand enough to watch IP without subs)? I’ve written a little on Ke Fan/Yan Ni in another post but it’s in Chinese.

  5. Anonymous February 19, 2012 at 12:15 PM #

    I read enough Chinese to be able to follow, although some of the Taiwanese/Taiwanese mandarin is a bit hard to follow. I am watching most of the episodes on youtube so that I can pause and look up words. I figure it is good mandarin practice!

    Agree that Yijie is very insecure. I hope Weishan is understanding enough to realise that this is why she is pushing back. And agree the scenes involving Chris Wu are pretty good!

    • J February 19, 2012 at 12:30 PM #

      If you’re interested, you can check out my ep43 post here – http://blobofcolour.livejournal.com/80716.html
      Chris Wu is indeed a scene stealer. He shows up for like 5 minutes and still manages to pull at my heartstrings. If Wei Xiang wasn’t such an awesome guy as well, I would totally be rooting for Dong Yang! I’m strangely not taken by his Tuo Ye in Autumn Concerto though Tuo Ye’s role was bigger and he was very devoted to the main girl.

      • Anonymous February 23, 2012 at 10:19 AM #

        maybe that’s why the drama decided to bring Dong Yang in way later after establishing Wei Xiang as the perfect man :p Otherwise…….. can’t imagine the fan battles that will ensue (败犬女王was a good example) 🙂

        -smiletea-

Leave a Reply

