T-ara Lovey Dovey

7 Jan

Chinese subbed version 中文字幕

Hmm. This follow up drama-MV doesn’t pack as much emotional punch as ‘Cry Cry’ until the very last few minutes perhaps because there really wasn’t much going on story wise. Yeah, so Ji-yeon (with Qri’s face) and the ajusshi were moping separately but that was pretty much it until The Final Showdown that I knew would be coming and even that kinda looked like The Not So Final Showdown in Cry Cry. I was touched by the ending scene though and I think that was partly attributed to Ji-yeon’s acting. Since I’m not a fan of T-ara and couldn’t tell one member apart from the other, it wasn’t clear to me on my first watch but in the final scene when ajusshi was looking at Ji-yeon (the character), her face changed from Qri back to Ji-yeon and I thought she brought out her character’s anguish well.

Overall, a slight disappointment because I was expecting much more after ‘Cry Cry’ but on the other hand, it’s only a veryyyy long MV so perhaps I shouldn’t be too critical?

5 Responses to “T-ara Lovey Dovey”

  1. Anonymous January 8, 2012 at 7:26 AM #

    Haha I actually thought it was a bit corny with the whole idea of plastic surgery. They could have at least messed up Jiyeon face a bit more. I had a hard time explaining the whole concept to my cousin. She watched it like 10 times. Well I will be going to a T-ara, Davichi and Yangpa concert in SF next Friday, although I am not much of a fan, I hope to see them perform both Cry Cry and Lovey Dovey. I don’t want to hear Yayaya and Bo Beep Bo Beep lol T-ara is getting better.
    -fun

    • J January 9, 2012 at 8:55 AM #

      I interpreted it as Jiyeon getting plastic surgery in order to hide from the ajusshi and the ‘bad guys’ but I suppose the ultimate reason was the agency wanting to get another member in the cast without writing another character? Haaa. Is Qri one of the more popular members? Is that why they wanted her to be the lead together with Jiyeon? These are some thoughts that occurred to me but I’m not familiar with T-ara so not sure how accurate they are.
      Enjoy the concert! 🙂

      • Anonymous January 9, 2012 at 7:19 PM #

        lol that could be a possibility too. I don’t follow T-ara either, but I do watch a lot of music shows so when they perform, I usually watch through everyone’s performances. But I have been following them lately just for the concert lol
        -fun

  2. Anonymous January 8, 2012 at 9:18 PM #

    I was looking forward to this follow up MV. I did like Cry Cry better (both the song and the storyline) but I liked this MV as well because Eun-Jung was in it =) She’s the only one I follow in T-ara, after seeing her in WGM. I like the cliff hanger at the end, not sure if she drove the car over the edge or not! Thanks for sharing J. -Fia

    • J January 9, 2012 at 9:02 AM #

      Same here, I was ho-hum about the song. In my mind, she drove off the cliff… more in line with the angsty feel of the story. Heeh, I like my angst.

Leave a Reply

