Looking back on 2011 – Kdramas

24 Dec

Between my job and trying to maintain some semblance of a social life, blogging got put on the back burner, but I finally have some time to look back on the non-lakorn dramas I’ve caught in 2011. Let’s start off with Korean dramas!

Princess Prosecutor: Caught this on a whim for Kim So Yeon and I ended up LOVING this and Park Shi Hoo if you haven’t already figured that out from my previous fangirly posts. This one is definitely on my list of dramas to re-watch in the years to come.

Spy Myung Wol: This one got me back in Kdramas and I did enjoy the first 10 episodes tremendously. Unfortunately real life drama didn’t make for good reel drama and it all fell apart in dramatic fashion with the Han Ye Seul debacle. I kept watching in hopes that we were gonna get some second lead action but nah, the scriptwriters didn’t even give me that.

Can’t Lose: Technically I’ve only watched the last few episodes and read the rest in recaps but I was actually touched by the recaps alone! Imagine that. Perhaps I’ll get round to actually watching the whole thing once through.

Dropped

Sign: It’s actually a really good forensic drama but after I took a break at ep7 at the conclusion of a case, I haven’t felt like picking it up again.

Dr. Champ: I expected it to be something like Code Blue but turned out there weren’t that many medical incidents after all. It’s very character focus and while I liked it enough to make it through 2/3 of the drama, it simply wasn’t engaging enough. The only relationship I was rooting for was actually Sang Bong and Ji Yeon’s bromance so when I read that Sang Bong will be getting into a nasty situation, I couldn’t bear the prospective angst and decided to drop DC while it was still roses and butterflies for our best buds.

Vampire Prosecutor: Very stylishly shot but the way scenes cut in and out of each other (to achieve said style I suppose) made it hard for me to keep track of the story. My main problem with VP though, was the main girl. In ep3 , she went to confront a suspected rapist/murderer at his shop ALONE. Whut? Left your common sense behind lady? Yea, she was armed with a taser but I should think a couple more HUMAN BEINGS would make for better back-up. Taser didn’t help as expected and I didn’t feel sorry for her at all when she got knocked out by said suspect, who was in fact a rapist and murderer. Anyway I knew the hero was gonna save her before anything bad happened. So that was that. VP tossed out of the window with main girl’s stupidity.

Watching now
Padam Padam: A drama that surprises me with each episode and while I don’t know how the story will develop from here (Is Gook Soo really an angel? Will Kang Chil die? Will Ji Na’s dad die? What big conspiracy is going on with the Prosecutor?), I’m definitely in for the ride.

3 Responses to “Looking back on 2011 – Kdramas”

  1. jamieguo48 December 25, 2011 at 6:38 PM #

    Oh goodie! This must have gotten lost in a sea of other friends posts. I’ve heard good things about Princess Prosecutor. I watched Spy Myung Wol as well, and enjoyed it but it got very stupid towards the end, with the characters running circles around each other, the same plot points returning. I found I liked Eric much better then the main girl.

    Oh, I remember that VP ep 3. I felt like strangling that idiot myself and wished something had happened to her that might knock some sense into her. But mostly I didn’t think VP gave me anything new, since the vampire thing didn’t seem that important.

    Padam Padam sounds good, but I think its the type of drama that could go downhill fast, so I think I’ll employ the wait and see method.

    Are there any kdramas you’re waiting to see? I know I have a list of ones I want to at least check out. That’s the downside of watching more then just kdramas, or only cdramas.

    You know it seems like that most lakorn watchers watch more than lakorns, but that most people who watch just kdramas, jdramas don’t watch lakorns, probably due to lakorns being less available subbed and of lower quality in general.

    • J December 26, 2011 at 6:41 AM #

      Did you finish watching VP? Apparently it did pretty well in ratings for a cable drama and the feedback on dramabeans was good too which was why I gave it a try again after stalling at ep2 but ep3 killed it for me. Same here, I thought the vampire angle wasn’t that critical in solving cases like I had expected it to.

      Padam Padam has sustained my interest so far by not being the typical romance drama out there but other than salivating over Kim Bum, I’m not particularly invested in the characters. No other Kdrama on my radar yet so I’ll still keep checking out new episodes of PP.

      Re lakorns: I never thought I’d be watching lakorns too and stumbled on it entirely by accident but it’s definitely gaining more popularity now especially among Chinese fans and with more subs available, more people are getting in on the lakorn love. It’s funny how though lakorns are generally of lower quality in production/script compared to say Kdramas, I find myself more touched by the OTPs in lakorns than Kdramas.

  2. Anonymous February 9, 2012 at 5:01 PM #

    i LOVED Prosecutor Princess!! Esp. the Ep 5 where she finally started to realize the influence she has as a prosecutor and helped the girl! 🙂

    And.. Park Shi Hoo… Hahaha! 😛

    -笑茶-

Leave a Reply

