Don Quixote

26 Oct

Kaseifu no Mita still wasn’t working for me by episode 2 so I decided to drop it and concentrate on HK dramas. I had already started on Ghetto Justice when I chanced upon a review of Don Quixote. It was a positive review plus it stars MATSUDA SHOTA which only means I need to check it out right away.

Matsuda Shota plays Shirota Masataka, a newbie child welfar officer who is great at memorising text book answers but doesn’t have enough social sense to deal with actual situations on the ground. On the other hand we have Sabashima Hitoshi, a yakuza boss who uses his muscles more than the grey matter upstairs. These two men who couldn’t be more different get their souls swapped one day and the fun starts …

The drama is centred on the child welfare issues encountered by Shirota-who-is-Sabashima and how he solves them in unconventional ways. Being a Jdrama, we have feel good endings to each case which may not be entirely realistic but well, the fun is watching Shirota and Sabashima as two fishes out of water. I especially love Shirota speaking gangsta to his bewildered colleagues and I just about died when he changed into yakuza styled suits instead of the prim and proper ones that the original Shirota wears. Heeh, I guess I like my Matsuda Shota a little badass?

ETA: I was surprisingly touched by Sabashima/Ayumi in ep5 and it helps that it’s Sabashima with Matsuda Shota’s face that’s angsting over the sacrifices that his wife has made for him and not being able to be with her because he’s unconveniently stuck in Shirota’s body.
Pointless fangirling: Massive drooling at Matsuda Shota in a yukata.

Watch it here

10 Responses to “Don Quixote”

  1. Anonymous October 26, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    Hi J- hope you’re enjoying your holiday today. I love how you’re so diverse with your drama selections. How’s your progress with RM? Are you going to watch RP? Are you taking a break from lakorns? So many questions.. I’m just bored lol. Maybe I’ll partake in Likit Sanaeha lakorn today. -Fia

    • J October 26, 2011 at 2:06 PM #

      Hi Fia! Is today a public holiday in Jakarta as well?
      Haa, yea, when I started watching lakorns a couple of years back, my mom was like ‘aren’t you busy enough with your other dramas?’. I can only say I’m a fickle fangirl with ever changing taste!
      I’ve watched all the available subbed episodes of RM and will write a reaction post when I’m done with it.

      • Anonymous October 26, 2011 at 2:21 PM #

        No not a public holiday unfortunately. Looking forward to reading your reaction post 🙂 I’m pretty fickle myself, sometimes I feel that I expect too much from lakorns lol- when in actuality they are just a good diversion from life. I like your post about Don Quixote even if I don’t plan on watching it.. I just like to read your perspective!

      • J October 26, 2011 at 3:08 PM #

        Haa, I think I enjoy lakorns so much because they remind me of the romance novels I used to read when I was in my teens – unrealistic but like you said, a good diversion from life. Drama watching for me is all about feeling for the characters and K/Jdramas haven’t been doing that for me in recent years even though they may often be superior to lakorns in production/presentation. But I still do check out dramas from different countries to balance my various drama needs. XD

      • Anonymous October 26, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

        Coming back here for Ch.7 recs..

        Say, what lakorns have you seen thus far from Ch.7? That way, I can prepare the list appropriately. Also, what genre’s or type of lakorns do you like? Do you have a p’ek/n’ek hate list? (believe me some do..)

      • J October 27, 2011 at 2:19 AM #

        I’ve only watched ‘Kha Khong Khon’ (Pong/Noon) and that one episode of ‘Sentai Salai Sod’, both which didn’t impress me much so I’m still waiting for one from Ch 7 that can really rock my socks off! 😉
        I have no genre preference but no stupid/playboy p’eks or wishy washy n’eks. I’m not familiar with Ch 7 artistes so no preference either but I guess I don’t fancy Pancake? Can’t judge her acting since I’ve not seen her in anything but not feeling her vibe.

      • Anonymous October 27, 2011 at 4:49 AM #

        Okie pokie J, here goes nothing. I haven’t seen these for awhile but I do recall liking them. They star my previous fave kookwan in ch.7 (Pinky and Weir.)

        If you like supernatural oozing with romance: Tur Keu Cheewit in Chi Sub:

        If you like revenge, slap/kiss: Wong Wian Hua Jai in Eng Sub
        http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=DBAFDA08017CF002

        I know you don’t like Pancake.. but I thought this lakorn was pretty cute. She is a girlie girl but makes the moves, if you know what I mean.. Besides, I adore Weir in this lakorn, he’s her “teacher..”
        Kon Noo Tewada in Chi Sub
        http://www.youtube.com/user/TsKscnTSTJ#p/c/A0051626048EB2A9/0/RmMngC2AdhU

        Saochai hi tech (it’s on my blog, I wrote a review for it awhile back.)

        There are more.. but couldn’t find any Chi/Eng subs.. I’ll keep trying.

        So um.. enjoy them at your leisure. I’d love to get your feedback.. curious to learn if I made a hit or a total miss as far as recommendations go hehe. xoxo Fia

      • J October 27, 2011 at 6:21 AM #

        Thanks for the recs~
        I only know Pinky from her recent scandal with Tanya’s husband! :O But Tur Keu Cheewit story sounds pretty interesting so I’ll check that one out first. I’ve also heard a lot of positive reviews on Saochai Hi-Tech so another one to add to my list! Hopefully these will help change my views on Ch 7! XD

      • Anonymous October 27, 2011 at 6:36 AM #

        Mind if I jump in lol

        Ch7… I am not too fond but here’s my list of recom.

        Rahut Rissaya Envious Code- eng sub can be found at viki.
        Benja Keta Kwan Ruk aka Melody of Love- sadly there is no sub. Teen drama… SUPER CHEESY and CORNY lol
        Sao Chai Hi-Tech- here is when the FF button comes in handy. Can’t say I love it, but it was worth googoogaga-ing.

      • J October 27, 2011 at 6:40 AM #

        No problem, the more the merrier! Thanks for your recs too. The FF button is a handy tool for most lakorns. Haaa

Leave a Reply

