A Crazy Little Thing Called Love review

17 Oct

I watched ‘A Crazy Little Thing Called Love’ over the weekend and while it’s not a bad film by any means, I was kinda underwhelmed. Perhaps my expectations were too high because it came highly recommended by my friends and it fell short of those expectations in the end.

It was an enjoyable movie and I guess it resonated with so many people because we’ve all been there, done that. We’ve all dreamt and chased after that perfect guy/girl in our teens and have experienced the inevitable heartaches which make up our memories of youth. I for one used to walk by the classroom of my crush on purpose hoping to catch a glimpse of him or better yet, get him to notice me but sadly he remained out my reach until I graduated. Watching the movie definitely got me reminiscing my younger days and it’s easy to feel for Nam when she appears to fail yet again in winning the affections of Chon.

The two most touching scenes for me were the one where Nam reconciled with her friends and where Nam got ‘rejected’ by Chon.

Nam finally mustered the courage to confess her feelings to Chon after three years but Chon pretended that he just had gotten together with his classmate and Nam was crushed that she was late by a week.

If it had ended this way with Nam and Chon parting ways and maybe with a final shot showing them moving on with their individual lives as adults, I might have rated this movie higher. Instead, Nam became an internationally renowned designer and they had a fairytale reunion on a tv show after pining after each other for 9 years. Hmm, it was just too neat and tidy for me because how many people’s teenage crush got a similar ending? Plus I didn’t quite get the basis of their deeeeep lurrv for each other. Nine years is a pretty long time and people change a lot, especially during the teen-to-adult years.

I can accept way more ludicrous coincidences and events in lakorns but they are mostly fantasy situations that I doubt I’ll ever find myself in. For ACLTCL, I could identify with about 80% of the movie so I was expecting it to continue being slightly more realistic and the fairytale ending just didn’t cut it with me.

Sigh, I’m such a cynical grown up.

I rate this: 2.5/5
Not a bad way to pass time but I wouldn’t pay for the movie ticket.

16 Responses to “A Crazy Little Thing Called Love review”

  1. Anonymous October 17, 2011 at 10:33 AM #

    Being a hopeless romantic, I liked the ending and glad for the happily ever after- so to speak since we don’t exactly know whether they will live happily ever after. The ending hinted on an optimistic one, so I’m grabbing for it. I mean, what if.. after Chon tells her that he has been waiting for a particular someone to come from America, then she surprises him with “I’m engaged” but thanks for the inspiration! Now that would really suck. I can see where you’re coming from, as far as it being unrealistic and borderline fantasy, but I think that is the whole point.. The film is catered to the teens, hopeless romantics, and everyone else who can relate and desperate for some hope. I am sometimes jaded and skeptical when it comes to unbelieveable on screen romance/plot but I’m ok with the way this one was told. I enjoy reading your perspective though and always glad for the discussion.

    Sigh.. STSS, haven’t gotten pass Ep 2 either. A wannabe Sood Saneha without the gumption and conviction in its characters and plot. I mean, it made me laugh but I’d like more in my drama than that, please. So, I’ve relegated to other genres lately: been in the world of zombies (Walking Dead series) and loving it by the way. Also been lost in the words of James Patterson in Kill Me If You Can- action pack suspense that will stimulate the page turning but not so much the mind. Talk about a venture outside of lakorns…

    By the by, I read on Lyn’s blog about Game Rai Game Ruk and thinking that this may be the lakorn that will pull me out of the lakorn drone/comatose. I am sad however that it will be aired on Fri, Sat and Sun slot.. because that will mean my weekends will be pretty much be ruined. What to do.. -Fia

    • J October 17, 2011 at 1:01 PM #

      I’ve seen the trailer and BTS of Game Rai Game Ruk subbed by wishy but I’m not quite sure what to think of it. The sweet parts on the island seems nice and the YaDech couple does look very good together but the second revenge part of the larkon looks a bit too much for me. But well, hopefully it will turn out to be a wow instead of a blah.

      I’m turning my attention to HK dramas for now. I haven’t been watching them for a while so it’s time to do some catch up. :p

    • J October 17, 2011 at 1:52 PM #

      After being reminded of Sood Sanaeha by STSS, I’ve actually been rewatching it on and off these days. Since I’ve already watched it a few times (yes, I’m mad like that), I just pick the parts I particularly like to enjoy and I’m still tickled by Alin and Din even though I can practically memorise their lines already. Such is the chemistry of KA!

    • Anonymous October 17, 2011 at 2:18 PM #

      For a moment there I had to wrack my brains for the meaning of KA, lol. Forgot thats what we’re calling them now- they need a snazzy name like Ateam… How about KAnn? Is that lame? I’ve seen Sood Saneha a few times too, it’s one of those perfect lakorns..I really like how you’re outlining your favorite quotes from SB, care to do the same for SS?

      • J October 18, 2011 at 2:29 AM #

        Hehe, I’m used to referring to them as KA because that’s what the Chinese fans use. Hmm, I started doing the memorable quotes for SB because it was the only lakorn where the sharp dialogue stood out consistently through the entire show whereas for SS, its charm laid in the delivery of the story and lines by the wonderful KA. But now that you mentioned, there are a few quotes that I really like e.g. Din’s confession to Alin, their proposal scene etc. Perhaps I will do a couple of posts to compile them all instead of a episode recap like I’m doing with SB. 🙂

  2. jamieguo48 October 18, 2011 at 12:13 AM #

    I got tired of it halfway through. I liked the comedy when she was an awkward kid, but when she became whiter, and more beautiful, I started to get annoyed at her character.

    Didn’t care for the ending either. It seemed half hearted. Either show the two together or going their separate ways, not the possibility of maybe. I agree with you, it wasn’t very credible.

    Game Rai Game Ruk doesn’t really do anything for me either, as I’m not a big YaDech fan, thought their other lakorn together was lame, but I was interested to learn it was the capable director who’s behind Ann and Ken’s big hits Sawan Biang, Oum Ruk, etc. I’m kinda tempted to watch because of that.

    That doesn’t mean, however, that they’re the next Ann and Ken. YaDech still have a long way to go actingwise, and NaDech lacks Ken’s looks, though I think Yaya’s prettier than Ann.

    I look forward to hearing about the HK dramas you’re watching. I looked up the list of recommendations you gave me before, but found nowhere to download them. Could you tell me again where you watch them with subs?

    • J October 18, 2011 at 2:15 AM #

      I watched like 10min of Duang Jai Akkanee before giving it a pass so I can’t comment on YaDech’s acting or chemistry but they’re so hot now I’m trying to understand the hype. If GRGR still doesn’t do it for me, then guess I’m not fated to join the YaDech ship. XD I read on LakornGods’ blog that GRGR will have 22 episodes so that’s also a bit of a concern for me because I don’t know if they have 22 ep worth of content and are not just dragging out a thin story line in order to milk the YaDech love. We’ll see!

      For HK dramas, I’m watching ‘The Other Truth’ (a legal drama) at the moment and plan to catch ‘Forensic Heroes 3’ next. I watch HK dramas with Chinese subs on DVD or China’s websites so not sure about where to get eng subs. I googled and found one for Rosy Business -> http://www.dramafans.org/drama/rosy_business . Maybe you can PM dangermousie and check where she dls HK dramas with eng subs because I remember she ever mention wanting to check out The King of Yesterday and Tomorrow.

      • Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

        As for STSS, I am finally at episode 3. Thanks to Kuda for subbbing. If it wasn’t for that, I would have left long ago. I still in the lakorn obsession phase. And this is the longest that I have been addicted. Usually after a lakorn ends, I would switch gear either to Mainland China, Korean, Japanese, Hong Kong or Taiwanese drama. -fun

      • J October 19, 2011 at 1:52 AM #

        I think I’m nearing the end of my most recent lakorn phase because it doesn’t look like there’s anything else I want to check out after Roy Mai. Any lakorn other than STSS that you’d want to recommend/have been obsessing over?

      • Anonymous October 19, 2011 at 4:20 AM #

        It’s just Roy Marn (takes a few episodes to settle for most people, but I thought it was going at a decent pace), Roy Mai and Kon Ruk Luang Jai (well that was… Now I’m just waiting for the last two episodes which I don’t know how they will extend it for a 3 hour duration). I’m a M&M shipper… To be honest, I am more of a Mint fan lol. So I am looking forward to Ruk Pratiharn (I think that is how you spell it lol) and the first half of GRGR (not really into the second half of the stoyline and I heard there will be an R scene which I believe is unnecessary).

  3. Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 9:09 PM #

    OMG I felt like I was the only one that felt that way. I enjoyed it but it wasn’t satisfying. I just didn’t like the idea of her changing her skin color, I wish it was that simple. I want to get rid of my tan lines and become that “white”. Wished she was still the ugly little duckling, at least that would have given me some hope haha.

    • J October 19, 2011 at 2:00 AM #

      Haaa, it was unrealistic how she became fair in one year. Didn’t know lightening of skin colour came with puberty. lol
      I have no problems with Nam wanting to become prettier or a more successful person to attract Chon but I feel the movie takes a way too simplistic view of love/growing up etc which was why it wasn’t satisfying for me.

  4. Anonymous October 19, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    J- I miss you today, what’s up? I know it’s probably super late over there and you’re probably having your beauty sleep. But just thought I’d drop a line and say that I’m thinking about ya! Thanks for linking me by the by. TTYL- Fia

    • J October 20, 2011 at 1:49 AM #

      Morning~ awww, thanks for keeping me in your thoughts. Np with the linking. My new non-LJ readers most likely all came from your link to my blog so I should be thanking you instead. 😉
      Yea, I probably won’t be commenting on your RM posts till I catch up (hopefully soon) because I’m so far behind but feel free to chat over here!

      • Anonymous October 20, 2011 at 8:16 AM #

        Mutual appreciation 🙂 So what are you up to, watching? I know you still need to catch up with RM, can’t wait until you do! I’m heading out to Bandung for an overnight trip (Fri-Sat), so pretty excited. Love to get a good look at the volcanoes, do some outlet shopping, eat fruits and squander away dead skin cells at the hot spring! Hopefully you’re all caught up to ep 14 by Sunday 🙂 -Fia

      • J October 20, 2011 at 9:26 AM #

        I’m watching HK dramas and RM alternately when I have time and also writing the review for ‘Tard Rak’. Enjoy your time in Bandung and hopefully I can join in the RM fangirling soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

