Sen Tai Salai Sode ep 1 impressions

8 Oct

I’m trying hard to give Ch 7 a chance seeing how their lakorns always lead the ratings contest but it’s simply not working out. ‘Sen Tai Salai Sode (The Deadline)’ is my second Ch 7 drama and the weak script and poor acting leaves me shaking my head. Noon gives a refreshing performance as Namfah, the career woman who pulls out the stops to find a husband in 60 days to fulfil her cancer stricken mom’s wish of seeing her get married. Let me digress to talk about the plot set up: I think it’s horribly cruel of her family to pretend that her mom is dying in order to push her into marriage. Anyway, since when did marriage = happiness? I have nothing against marriage, heck, I wanna get married but Namfah’s mom speak as if her daughter can’t achieve real happiness without getting hitch. And what kind of marriage will her daughter end up with when you give her all of 2 months to get a husband? Whatever, it’s just a lame-ass reason to force the n’ek into the husband-finding situation.

Ok, back to Noon. I’ve read that it’s the first time she’s doing a comedic role? I feel she tries a litttttle too hard in certain scenes but overall she’s doing good and she’s beautiful as always. Can’t say the same for the rest of the cast though. I was overwhelmed by the bad acting from pretty much everyone else, yes, even for the p’ek Vee and that’s saying a lot considering I can even tolerate Mart’s acting.

There are many funny one-liners but taken as a whole, the script is flimsy and coupled with the poor acting, I’m not sure if I will continue. Any supporters of STSS wants to make a case for it?

If you want a rom com, go check out ‘Sood Sanae Ha (Love Recipe)’ by Ken/Ann. It’s has a similar set up with Ann trying to snag the perfect husband and Ken getting mixed up in the whole affair without intending to. It’s a well written love story with top notch acting from KA and definitely worth your time.

9 Responses to “Sen Tai Salai Sode ep 1 impressions”

  1. Anonymous October 8, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

    I have seen only the first episode. I liked it. Noon is a great actress but in this role, I don’t know. She’s good but every other second or so, I just don’t buy it. I guess that explains why she normally takes on the intense and melodrama genre. Kind of disappointed in Amy (Noon’s best friend in the lakorn), I believe she’s a wonderful actress but this role is similar to her previous ones. Don’t get me started with Vee lol… I guess you can tell, I ain’t too fond of him.

    • J October 9, 2011 at 7:06 AM #

      What’s Vee’s standing at Ch 7? Is he one of the popular actors? Because frankly I don’t understand how he even made it on screen with that level of ‘acting’, if I can even call it that plus his character Din didn’t make a whole lot of sense either which isn’t helping.
      I’m also disappointed with the supporting cast. The ‘elders’ in lakorns can usually be depended on for a stable performance but Namfah’s mom had some pretty bad acting going on there too.

      • Anonymous October 9, 2011 at 8:31 AM #

        I don’t know either. I normally don’t let celebrities’ news get to me, but I don’t like Vee as a person nor as an actor haha. In terms of look, Om is the only one that is good-looking from Ch7.

  2. pingback_bot October 9, 2011 at 12:46 AM #

    What’s Up 4? – A Look at New or Upcoming Dramas

    User referenced to your post from What’s Up 4? – A Look at New or Upcoming Dramas saying: […] a husband quickly to fulfill her dying mother's request. Look here for 's first impression […]

  3. jamieguo48 October 9, 2011 at 12:58 AM #

    Hmm, I’m still going to give this one a chance. Lyn at Lyn’s Lakorn blog said it sounded like Taming of the Shrew, but doesn’t seem like it’s that similar from your description.

    I don’t think I’ve watched anything with Vee yet.

    • J October 9, 2011 at 7:09 AM #

      I might try for a couple more episodes because there are some funny scenes which made me laugh out loud so STSS still gets some brownie points from me. XD

  4. Anonymous October 9, 2011 at 1:52 PM #

    That’s funny, as I was watching STSS, I felt it reminisces Sood Saneha too. Although, the cast of Sood Saneha is on a smaller scale than STSS. I’m going to follow this lakorn, if only for the fact that it makes me laugh. I’ve personally enjoyed the funny, quick witted dialogues ๐Ÿ™‚

    • J October 9, 2011 at 2:46 PM #

      Do let me know what you think of future episodes of STSS and if it’s worthwhile to watch! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Anonymous October 10, 2011 at 2:58 PM #

        Will do. BTW, that was my comment above, forgot to sign my name ๐Ÿ™‚ -Fia

Leave a Reply

