back from Land of Smiles

5 Oct

Back from Krabi! It rained 2 out of the 3 full days I was there and while I was disappointed on the first day, I did enjoy myself in the end and I miss Krabi terribly now. D:

I stayed at Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa and I highly recommend this resort to anyone who’s planing a trip to Krabi. It’s located slightly off the main road at Ao Nang beach but it’s still within walking distance and even if walking is not your thing (like yours truly), the resort provides free shuttle service to and from Ao Nang beach area till 10pm. I love the tranquility of the surroundings and the comfortable and spacious suite but most of all, it was the impeccable service provided by the resort staff that made my stay there so pleasant. My friends and I made use of the shuttle service quite a bit (yes, we are a lazy bunch) and I really enjoyed interacting with the drivers during the short ride because they made me feel that it’s genuinely their pleasure to drive us and they aren’t ‘just doing a job’. There was once when we called for the shuttle service from Ao Nang at around 9ish and it still hadn’t come by 9.30 so after we got the restaurant staff to help us call again, we stood by the roadside to make sure the driver wouldn’t miss us. Suddenly a guy on a bike drove over and asked if we were going back to Phu Pi Maan. For a moment I thought he was driver soliciting for business (there are many tuk tuks and taxis for hire around) before I realised he was one of the resort drivers! He had already knocked off and was on his way home when he saw us and he actually took the trouble to stop and call the resort for us again. It’s always the human touch that makes the difference. =) The only minus thing I can say about the place is the limited selection at their breakfast buffet but I don’t know if there will be more variety during peak season. Anyway they have enough to fill my tummy so no biggie for me.

As the weather was unpredictable, we didn’t book any island tours in advance and only dropped by Railay Beach on the only sunny day we got. We had a nice time relaxing by the beach and the sun always came back quickly even though there were interim showers. The return trip to Ao Nang by the longtail boat was a killer though. The sea had gotten rougher due to the winds and as we were sitting at the front of the boat, we were getting splashed by sea water every other minute and were thoroughly soaked by the time we made it back to Ao Nang. There were no life vests provided and we were all holding on for dear life during that very long 15 minutes where the longtail boat was practically flying on the sea bt I live to tell the tale so it probably wasn’t as bad as it felt. heeh.

The rest of our time were spent on eating, massages, playing cards and sipping coffee. I didn’t do as much as I had hoped but I’m still thankful I got the chance to have a holiday in Krabi! ok, that’s all for real life events … I need to catch up on ‘Roy Mai’ and perhaps get started on tw dramas ‘Ring Ring Bell’ and ‘Office Girls’. Also hoping to review ‘Tard Rak’ and ‘Mae Kha Khanom Wan’ by this week!

2 Responses to “back from Land of Smiles”

  1. jamieguo48 October 9, 2011 at 12:54 AM #

    Sounds like you had a good time. I had no idea about what Krabi was until I googled it. Looks very pretty.

    • J October 10, 2011 at 2:18 AM #

      Yep, pity it rained most of the time I was there and I didn’t manage to see the beaches in all their beautiful glory.

Leave a comment