Sawan Biang ep 1

16 Sep

‘Sawan Biang’ is my favourite lakorn of all time and I’ve decided to do an episode by episode record of my thoughts and memorable quotes. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea but till now I haven’t found another lakorn that is so powerful in its raw emotions and with such amazing acting by the cast.

Memorable quotes:

Face off with Narin

K: What you really want is money right?
N: Yes, because I don’t think you have anything else you can give to others except for money.
K: That’s too much! (turns around to glare menacingly at Narin) Do you know who you’re talking to?
N: Thank you so much for turning your face to talk to me directly. It looks more well-mannered. If you will pay me the damages, please pay cash. I won’t accept a cheque. And find someone else to do it because I won’t accept this job any more. Hello and goodbye, Khun Kawee Worawoth.

Face off with dad 1

They argue about Kawee making trouble for his step mom the moment he gets back from boarding school.

D: You’re too self centre! Have you ever considered the feelings of others? How do others think and feel? I really want to ask you, does a person like you have heart?
K: (talks about the times when he was sick in boarding school and dad wasn’t around to care for him) You’ve never visited me once in the 5,6 years I was overseas. If you’re a person with heart, you may have it for someone else but not for me.
D: Look at your behavior! Who can love you when you behave like this? You must ask yourself, examine yourself, why even as your dad I do not want to love you! You’ve only been back for less than a week and you create trouble for me every day. Kawee, I have never been proud that I have a son like you!
K: Do you think I’m so proud that I was born to be your son? If I could choose, I would not choose to be born as your son! If we can’t live together with love, let’s just live together with hatred.

Face off with dad 2

K: Let me ask you something. If it were my funeral today and your new wife didn’t want to go, would you be this angry with her?

Dad walks off without a word and Kawee’s face is just aslfjlaksjdhflkjh.

To annoying Hi-So girl
K: Since I was born, I’ve never made up with anyone before and until I die, I will never do it.
The first of Kawee’s many ‘Since I was born’ statements. Well my dear boy, you’ll be eating these words off the floor later.

Episode thoughts:
We have our p’ek Kawee being a royal jackass in every scene but unlike other arrogant type p’eks, you can sense that anger rather than self-entitlement is fuelling his bad behaviour. Ken is insanely amazing as Kawee and he has you wanting to smack Kawee upside down one moment and feeling sorry for him the next. While I’m of the opinion that everyone is responsible for their own actions and a crappy childhood does not give you the right to act out at everyone, Kawee’s scenes with his dad still breaks my heart because he could be holding ‘PLEASE LOVE ME’ neon signs and his dad wouldn’t notice.

I realise I had inadvertently written the whole post around Kawee – such is the intensity of his character!

9 Responses to “Sawan Biang ep 1”

  1. dangermousie September 21, 2011 at 3:42 AM #

    OMG, I love this post. My feminist side knows I should not like this drama but I ended up loving it anyway – mmmm, chemistry, plus it was my introduction to Ken and Anne.

    • J September 21, 2011 at 7:45 AM #

      This is the only drama where the dialogue really made an impression on me, so much so I’m doing this series on SB. Of course, Ken/Ann’s chemistry was amazing.
      I remember you mentioned that you only watch the 2nd half of SB? Heeh, hopefully this will make you want to watch the first half too. You’d want to punch Kawee and/or Leela at various points but it’s worth the strain on your blood pressure. XD

      • Anonymous October 6, 2011 at 9:48 PM #

        fun

        I have seen many many many lakorns since.. you know what I don’t even remember. There hasn’t been any actor or male character that has truly captivated my heart. I know the multiple “rape” scenes is a turn off, but there is a reason for that angst. I am not saying rape is okay but I just couldn’t hate HATE Kawee.

        There were so many memorable dialogue. I still say this is Ken best character portrayal, his emotions were spot on, even Koravic was unable to beat it.

      • J October 7, 2011 at 3:36 AM #

        Re: fun

        Indeed, rape is a big NO and I really don’t get the liberal use of rape in lakorns. With regards to SB however, I get the flow of events leading up to and following the rape unlike in for example Plerng See Roong where the R scene was so random and WTH (well, that whole lakorn was full of randomness and WTHs).

        I’m with you on this being Ken’s best work!

  2. Anonymous October 6, 2011 at 11:22 PM #

    I love it every time you have a SB post. I think I spent nearly almost 2 hours looking at your journal entries lol..

    Anyways I am curious to know your thoughts on Rang Ngao with KA. Or did you stop in the middle? lol

    • J October 7, 2011 at 3:25 AM #

      Heeh, glad you enjoyed my entries! I stopped around ep 5 of Rang Ngao but I do plan on continuing.

      • Anonymous October 8, 2011 at 9:58 PM #

        I would love to hear in this case read about your thoughts on RN when you complete it. It too has many memorable dialogues. It was definitely quite shocking as their used a lot of sex analogies. It was quite intense. The rape scene was so random, I wanted to kill the script writer for it.

      • J October 9, 2011 at 7:49 AM #

        I might get round to RN soon if no other lakorns catch my eye.
        Yea, lakorns feature too many rapes and mostly it’s for no good reason e.g. because the p’ek wants to ‘punish’ the n’ek. Like WHAT???

      • J October 9, 2011 at 11:05 AM #

        Just to add, not that there’s a ‘good reason’ for rape, I mean often the scriptwriters just stick a R scene in for the hell of it.

Leave a Reply

