A Chinese Ghost Story 2011

17 Apr

8 minute extended trailer w/out subs

I didn’t know Leslie Cheung’s 1987 classic was being remade till I saw the trailer on tv. The new version has Ning Cai Chen/Xiao Qian/Yan Chi Xia in a love triangle of sorts which will probably rile up fans of the original but since I can’t remember much of it, it doesn’t bother me. I’m not a fan of Liu Yi Fei but I have to admit she’s gorgeous and overall I’m sufficiently attracted by the trailer to consider shelling out a few bucks to catch this in the theatres.


My memory of the original movie is hazy, but this classic image of Joey Wong will pop up immediately whenever I hear the title 《倩女幽魂》. I’m curious to see how LYF stacks up.

2 Responses to “A Chinese Ghost Story 2011”

  1. Anonymous September 30, 2011 at 9:42 AM #

    Golly, is the bearded man Louis Koo Tin Lok? Yikes, I have a huge crush on him, ever since “The Condor Heroes, ’95.” The last movie I’ve seen of him was in “Connected” and I thought he was still gorgeous. Tall, dark and handsome.. I know, such a late comment but I’m stalking your blog! -Fia

    • J September 30, 2011 at 9:48 AM #

      Indeed, that is Louis Koo! Always happy to have people reading and commenting on my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

