Sood Sanae Ha (Love Recipe )

11 Jan

The last 2 lakorns I watched were somewhat of a letdown despite the strong cast. I enjoyed the first half of Borisud Bumbat Kaen enough to blog about it but I became bored of it as the plot got messier the and characters crazier. Actually, I can’t even remember what happened in the last few episodes. I still have to say Ann put up a stellar performance as the mentally disturbed and manipulated nang’ek but the love story wasn’t strong (or probable) enough for me to buy into the romance between Ann and Aum.

Then Namtan Mai finally came amidst great expectations by the Ateam fans and I’m sorry to say that I was sorely disappointed. I pushed myself to finish watching this lakorn for Aff and Aum’s sake, keeping my fingers crossed that it would get better as the show progressed but no, it dragged on and on, with Aff running away and Aum chasing after her for pretty much the entire lakorn. The problem with Namtan Mai was that there’s no development of the love story. We’re told at episode 1 that Aff and Aum are madly in love after a few ernest looks between Aum (the boss) and Aff (the new employee). They spend the rest of the time agonizing over this ‘forbidden love’ but I never understood why they loved each other so much. Ploy was suitably annoying and evil as the nang’rai and I do like her a lot as an actress but I wish the scriptwriters hadn’t made her character take up so much screen time and focused instead on developing the supposed love story.

Then came Ken and Ann, teaming up again for “Love Recipe”. It wasn’t on my to-watch list initially because I’d decided to put lakorns aside and concentrate on catching up with J-dramas but thankfully, I didn’t let this great romantic comedy slip by. I think I was waiting for “Code Blue” to load (which sometimes take forever on tudou.com) when I thought, what the heck, let’s take a shot at this to pass time.

The first episode had me in stitches and Ken/Ann once again had me sold on their unbelievable chemistry and great acting. I can’t emphasis how much I admire Ann for slipping so totally into each character that she potrays. She’s a hoot as the self-absorbed has-been actress Alin who is trying to scheme her way into marrying the man of her dreams and revive her flagging career. Alin is bossy, childish, lacking common sense and consideration, but Ann manages to make her endearing to both Din and the audience. It’s so hard to be angry at Alin when she pouts and goes “please please please please Kru Cook”, does her little happy dance when things go her way, and frets over Very Important Issues like looking old. For all her failings, Alin is not mean spirited (erm, except when she’s trying to sabotage her arch rival Ming? XD) and she has a child-like innocence about her that puts a smile on Din’s face. Her interection with Din and the long-suffering Kom is hilarious and it’s impossible to not feel happy after watching them together. SSH kinda reminds me of “The Ugly Truth” because both female leads try to win their ‘dream guy’ by pretending to be someone they are not and they eventually realise that ‘right guy’ is the one who accepts and loves them for who they really are.

As for Din, his character is the sombre, down-to-earth type so there’s not as much space to ‘perform’ as compared to say Kawee in Sawan Biang but cedit goes to Ken for being the perfect ‘acting partner’ for Ann and creating wonderful sparks between their characters. He gives such tender and longing looks to Alin which it just melts my heart.

This an example of how to write a love story. There’s a process of getting to know each other, accepting each other, overcoming the obligatory obstacles (family opposition, love rivals, pride yada yada) and finally getting together. Let me understand their love so that I can sincerely root for them even though they are just fictional characters.

Now for the supporting characters. The villians are ridiculously one-dimensional characters who exist solely for making life difficult for the nang’ek and pra’ek and the overacting from them makes me fastfoward anything with them in it, but I guess romantic comedies do not need strong multi-faceted villians. Kom is delightful as the loyal friend to both Alin and Din and the funniest scenes are of him getting bossed around by Alin. I’m indifferent to Lek and Tha’s story (sorry, Lek is a spineless jerk who lets his wife and daughter get bullied by his overbearing mother) but the girl who acted as their daughter Pupae is such a darling.

I’m not-so-patiently waiting for the more subs of SSH to come … in the meantime, guess I’ll head back to J-dramas! New episode of Liar Game and new season of Code Blue should be coming my way by tomorrow!

check out the teaser for Sood Sanae Ha! ^^

10 Responses to “Sood Sanae Ha (Love Recipe )”

  1. Anonymous October 17, 2011 at 3:28 PM #

    I’m actually going back to your tags and revisiting “Sood Sanae Ha” and loving your remarks! Spot on. I completely agree and couldn’t have said it better.

    [On a side note: I’m not sure if you know this.. But the word sanae ha is actually one word, even though it’s intuitive to separate the syllables. So it should be Soot(recipe) + Sanaeha(love). I know, it’s a minor thing..]

    Xoxo Fia

    • J October 18, 2011 at 2:50 AM #

      Thanks for the correction on ‘sanaeha’. I follow how the subbers write it because I don’t know Thai but now I’ve learnt two new words. 😉

      • Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 2:58 AM #

        Here’s another tidbit.. ‘sanaeha’ is a poetic word for love but rarely used in reality. As you may have heard in subbed dramas, ‘rak’ is the term for love. So chun (I) + rak (love) + ter (you) = I Love You. (Thai also has terms that are used for females/males only but lets not go into that hehe..)

      • J October 18, 2011 at 3:14 AM #

        Ooh, thanks for the tidbit. I love languages and it’s always fun to know more. I know men use pom/krap and women use chan/ka, what other common terms are for males/females only?

      • Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 11:39 AM #

        Hmm.. let’s see, you got the main ones kup/ka, pom/chan. Back in the day men used to say chan too, but now it is used in songs as “me” or “I.” Sometimes you will hear male speakers say “ha” instead of “kup” which means “yes”. Female speakers say “ja” which also means “yes” in place of “ka”. When you hear the word “kao” that’s suppose to mean “him” but can be used interchangeably to mean “her”.. “ter” means “her”, but in music, “ter” is used for “you” for poetic and simplicity purposes. Thai language can be difficult because it’s tonal, has formal/informal ways to say things, and a single word can mean different things.. but it’s music to my ears!

      • J October 18, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

        I’ve noticed the ‘ja’ in lakorns. Is it usually used by elder females to someone younger?
        I tried learning simple Thai through yt videos and thought it might be easier for me to get the tones because Chinese and its dialects are tonal languages too but I still get confused. :O ok, maybe yt is not the best way to learn a new language. hahaa

      • Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

        “ja” is more old school, and it could be confusing too because when you emphasize it more, “ja”, could also mean like you’re trying to urge someone to do something.

        Which Chinese dialect do you speak? Learning a new language is always fun and helpful- especially when you’re already watching a few of the dramas hehe- so whether it is on YT or a book, it’s all good! I’m learning Indonesian but my heart’s not in it. I would much rather brush up on my Spanish..

      • J October 18, 2011 at 3:09 PM #

        I see, because I usually hear older women use it in lakorns so I thought it was a term reserved to use from elder to younger people.
        I can speak Hokkien (not fluently though and my mom always complains that my pronounciation is off. haa) and can also understand simple Cantonese. You’re presently staying in Jakarta right? I’m sure the environment will help with learning Indonesian but yea, interest is the greatest motivator for language learning. I learnt Japanese for quite a few years but since stopping classes a couple years back plus no Japanese around me to practice it with, it’s getting rusty. I’m undecided now if I should continue with Japanese or go for actual Thai classes.

      • Anonymous October 18, 2011 at 3:53 PM #

        Lol sometimes we’d be lucky to hear the word “ka” or “kup” anymore (only in dramas of course.)

        Yes, I’m currently residing in Jakarta but our six month term is almost over.. however, they are looking to keep us on longer, so we’ll see. I’m pretty homesick for the US but staying in SE Asia gives me the opportunity to travel to Thailand a lot, oh and Singapore too. I don’t have any motivation to learn Indonesian- their dramas suck big time.. We’ll see how this expat thing works out.

        This is random but I love hokkien mie! Singapore has one of the best beer gardens/food court ever- I love the fresh sugar cane, longans, satay sticks.. oh I’m drooling right now just thinking about it!

      • J October 19, 2011 at 2:34 AM #

        LOL, I totally get you! My fandoms play an important role in my interest in certain languages too. I did well for Chinese in school but didn’t have the passion or appreciation for the language until I started reading wuxi novels by Louis Cha. Same for Japanese and now Thai. Strange though, during the period where I obsessed over Korean dramas, I never had a strong urge to learn it.

        Heehee, glad you enjoy the food in Singapore because I do too!

Leave a Reply

